Funding profile · Consumer diagnostics

Bristle Health

One announced round, no Form D on file anywhere in EDGAR, and four years of building on it. The capital picture here is unusually thin for a company selling a sequencing based test.

$3.0MSeed announced May 24, 2022, led by Initialized Capital
$3.12MTotal across two rounds, per a private market database
0Form D filings under any Bristle entity in SEC EDGAR
$169List price of the consumer test, checked Sep 23, 2026

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2021 Y Combinator, Winter 2021 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
2021 First round in database records Not disclosed Not named Database
May 24, 2022 Seed, announced $3.0M Led by Initialized Capital; Y Combinator; Anne Wojcicki Company release
Jul 25, 2022 Same round, reported $3.0M Reported by Axios as an exclusive, two months after the company release Independent
2022 to 2026 No further round on public record None found None Not found
All years Federal grants None found No NIH or NSF award located Public record

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D located · searched Sep 23, 2026

Company search
Names beginning “Bristle” return only unrelated Bristlecone entities. No registrant named Bristle or Bristle Health.
Full text search
0 hits for “Bristle Health” and 0 hits for “bristlehealth” across all filing types.
Form D
None on file for the company and none for any single company vehicle formed to invest in it.
Reading
An offering sold under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D generates no Form D. Absence of a filing is not absence of a financing.
Related persons
No SEC filed officer or director list exists. Named co-founders come from company announcements and database records: Danny Grannick, David Lin, Brian Maurer, Shivam Patel.

Reading the filings

  1. There is nothing to read, and that is the finding.Four years after a publicly announced $3.0M seed led by a named institutional investor, EDGAR holds no Form D for this company. Either the round was papered under Section 4(a)(2), or a notice was never filed. Both are common at seed stage, and both leave outside observers with only the press release.
  2. The announcement and the report are two months apart.The company dated its release May 24, 2022. Axios reported the round as an exclusive on July 25, 2022, and one database records the seed on that later date. Nothing reconciles the two dates, so any round timeline built from secondary sources will be off by a quarter.
  3. A database puts total funding at $3.12M across two rounds.That is roughly $120,000 above the announced seed, and it is dated to a first round in 2021, which is consistent with a standard accelerator investment rather than a separate priced round. It is a private market estimate, not a filing.
  4. None of the capital is non-dilutive.No NIH, NSF or other federal award was located. For a company running its own sequencing assay, that is a meaningful absence: SBIR money usually comes with the kind of external review that would also have produced a validation record.
  5. Revenue, not rounds, is what has carried this.The consumer test lists at $169, with practitioner pricing reported at $90 to $120 and subscription and probiotic products alongside it. The company adds that most insurers do not reimburse salivary testing, so this is cash pay throughout.
  6. The recent news flow is distribution, not capital.A December 2025 joint study with Tiny Health and a July 2026 partnership with Dentistry.One, the virtual dental arm of MouthWatch, both extend reach without raising money. Companies that can raise usually do both.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) or premarket approval record. Sold as a wellness test, run as a laboratory developed test. Public record
Laboratory Described by the company as a U.S. laboratory certified by CLIA standards. Not named, no certificate number published. Company-stated
Evidence A 2022 company white paper on 100 Dugoni patients, and a Jan 2026 bioRxiv preprint on 220 samples with two Bristle employees as authors. No peer reviewed paper found. Company-affiliated
Pricing $169 consumer, $90 to $120 practitioner, subscription discounts, HSA and FSA eligible. Independent
Reimbursement CDT codes exist; most insurers do not pay for salivary testing, per the company. Company-stated
Channel Direct to consumer, a practitioner program for dental offices, a practitioner marketplace listing, and the Dentistry.One tie in from July 2026. Company and partner
Competition Viome, OralDNA Labs, Peri, FidaLab, Spectrum Solutions, OraVital and others sell oral tests between roughly $90 and $299. Independent

What to watch

  • A first Form D. It would be due within 15 days of the first sale of any new Regulation D round.
  • Whether a later financing arrives with a named lead, or whether the company stays on revenue.
  • Whether the 2026 preprint is published, which is the cheapest credibility this company can buy.
  • Any disclosure of the performing laboratory and its CLIA certificate.
  • Whether the Dentistry.One channel produces disclosed volumes.

The Bristle Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company search and full text search for Bristle: no filingsSEC · Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordFDA databases, trial registry, NIH RePORTER and NSF awards: no recordsFederal databases · Sep 23, 2026
  3. Public recordSalivary microbiome diversity, oral health and diseasebioRxiv preprint · Jan 27, 2026
  4. IndependentBristle polishes off $3M seedAxios · Jul 25, 2022
  5. IndependentBristle profile, funding and foundersTracxn · Sep 23, 2026
  6. IndependentThe Best Oral Microbiome Tests, with practitioner pricingHealth First Consulting · Oct 2024
  7. IndependentBristle Health review and pricingFin vs Fin · Feb 3, 2025
  8. CompanyBristle Raises $3M for its At-Home Oral Microbiome TestBristle · May 24, 2022
  9. CompanyProvider guide FAQ and product pages, including list priceBristle · Sep 23, 2026
  10. PartnerTiny Health and Bristle Health oral-gut studyGlobeNewswire · Dec 16, 2025
  11. PartnerBristle Health and Dentistry.One partnershipPR Newswire · Jul 8, 2026

Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH and NSF public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice exists for this company, and an offering made under Section 4(a)(2) would not generate one. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Bristle Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.