Funding profile · Rapid diagnostics
Clip Health
Luminostics, Inc. raised about $53 million across nine years and never filed a Form D. More than eight dollars in ten came from the federal government, almost all of it in one pandemic contract.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors or funder | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Y Combinator, Summer 2016 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Nov 2016 | Seed financing | Not disclosed separately | Khosla Ventures, Y Combinator; Lynette Capital named in later reporting | Company and press |
| 2016 to 2020 | NIAID small business grants | $2,670,173 | NIH NIAID, five awards | NIH RePORTER |
| Sep 30, 2020 | RADx Tech Phase 2 contract 75N92020C00029 | $39,067,500 obligated and outlaid | NIH, with BARDA funds | USAspending |
| Aug 30, 2021 | Contract FA821021C0001, test kit production expansion | $2,000,000 | US Air Force | USAspending |
| Through 2023 | Strategic partnership revenues | $3.5M | Not named | Company-stated |
| May 2023 | Asset sale process, all or substantially all assets | Bids due Jun 9, 2023 | Run by Gerbsman Partners | Sale memorandum |
What the records show
Luminostics, Inc. · NIH contract 75N92020C00029 · signed Sep 30, 2020
- Program
- RADx Tech, Advanced Technology Platforms Phase 2
- Published budget
- $26,120,000
- Obligated
- $39,067,500, paid in full
- Period
- Sep 30, 2020 to Sep 29, 2023
- Record
- USAspending and NIH RePORTER; recipient listed in San Jose, CA
Luminostics, Inc. · Air Force contract FA821021C0001 · signed Aug 30, 2021
- Obligated
- $2,000,000
- Period
- Aug 30, 2021 to Feb 26, 2022
- Record
- USAspending; recipient listed in Milpitas, CA
Luminostics, Inc. d/b/a Clip Health · asset sale memorandum · May 10, 2023
- Assets
- 3 issued patents, 4 pending, trade secrets, manufacturing equipment under lease
- Licence
- Core glow-in-the-dark patents held under exclusive licence from the University of Houston
- Debt
- No secured debt obligations
- Revenue
- “Clip Health currently has no recurring revenues from product sales or collaborations.”
- Bid deadline
- Jun 9, 2023, 3:00 pm Pacific; $200,000 refundable deposit; close within 7 business days
- Record
- Gerbsman Partners, published on behalf of the company
Reading the records
- Federal money was five sixths of the company.Contracts and grants that can be checked in public records come to $43,937,673. Against the $53 million total the company reported in May 2023, that is 82.9 percent. Venture capital, at $3.5 million, was 6.6 percent.
- The RADx award grew by half after it was announced.NIH published a budget of $26,120,000 for the Luminostics award, and the company announced a $26.1 million contract in October 2020. USAspending records $39,067,500 obligated and fully paid on the same contract number, 49.6 percent above the published budget.
- Every venture dollar pulled in about twelve federal dollars.$43,937,673 divided by $3,500,000 is 12.6. Raising $3.5 million of equity and then spending $44 million of public money is a ratio almost no diagnostics company gets to run, and it existed only while the RADx window was open.
- There is no Form D, and that is not an anomaly.EDGAR holds no company record at all for Luminostics, Inc. or Clip Health, and full text search returns the name only inside Sanofi 6-K filings from 2020. Offerings sold under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D produce no Form D, and $3.5 million spread over accelerator instruments and one seed close is small enough to have moved that way.
- The authorization was retired before the assets were.The company asked the FDA to withdraw EUA202907 on May 2, 2023, the agency revoked it on May 5, and the sale memorandum went out on May 10. An emergency authorization with no product behind it is a compliance obligation rather than an asset, so it was cleared off the books first.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | EUA202907 issued Dec 7, 2020, revoked May 5, 2023 at the company’s request. No 510(k) and no premarket approval on record. | Public record |
| Manufacturing | More than 700,000 units produced; line capacity stated at more than 40 million kits a year, validated under a Department of Defense inspection in 2022. | Company-stated |
| Distribution | Alercell, of Bozeman, Montana, announced US distribution on Apr 28, 2021. | Partner-stated |
| Partnership | Sanofi agreement of Apr 16, 2020 to evaluate a consumer self-test. No authorized product followed. | Partner-stated |
| Current status | No completed sale found on the public record. Neither cliphealth.com nor luminostics.com served a web page when checked in September 2026. | Not found |
What to watch
- Patent assignment records moving the three issued families away from Luminostics, Inc.
- Whether the University of Houston licence was reassigned or reverted.
The Clip Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordContract 75N92020C00029, Luminostics Inc., RADx Tech
- Public recordContract FA821021C0001, Luminostics Inc.
- Public recordRADx funding list, awardee Luminostics, Inc.
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, seven awards to Luminostics, Inc.
- Public recordRevocation of EUA202907
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search for Luminostics and Clip Health
- CompanyDate Certain M&A of Clip Health, its assets and intellectual property
- CompanyClip Health company and founder profiles
- IndependentUniversity of Houston spinout’s smartphone-based COVID test
Compiled from SEC, NIH, FDA and federal spending records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no Form D was located for this company, and the absence of one does not mean no securities were sold. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Clip Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
