Funding profile · Scientific publishing software
Curvenote
A Y Combinator backed company with one disclosed round: a CAD $1.4 million seed announced in July 2025. No SEC Form D has been found under the company’s name, and a third party revenue tracker shows a different funding figure than the company itself does.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Y Combinator, Winter 2021 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Jul 2, 2025 | Seed round | CAD $1.4M | Angel investors focused on scientific infrastructure and open technology, plus unnamed researchers and founders; Y Combinator backing continues | Company release |
What the filings show
No Form D or other SEC filing was found under “Curvenote” in an EDGAR full text search as of September 25, 2026. That is consistent with a Calgary incorporated company reporting a round in Canadian dollars, which may have been raised entirely outside a US Regulation D offering, or under an exemption that does not require a Form D. Its absence does not confirm or deny that capital moved; it only means there is no federal disclosure to check the company’s own number against.
Reading the numbers
- One round, one number, no filing.The only funding figure on record is the company’s own: a CAD $1.4 million seed round announced July 2, 2025. Curvenote describes the backers only as “a network of angel investors focused on scientific infrastructure and open technology, alongside researchers and founders,” without naming any of them, and without a specific dollar amount attached to its earlier Y Combinator backing.
- A third party tracker disagrees.GetLatka, a revenue and funding database, lists Curvenote’s total funding as $0 as of its most recent update, which does not match the company’s own July 2025 seed announcement. GetLatka’s revenue figure for the company, an estimated $440,000 in 2025, is also labeled an estimate rather than a disclosed number.
- Team size is a small window into scale.Y Combinator’s company profile lists a team size of 3. GetLatka separately records 3 employees in June 2024 and 4 by December 2024. Neither source is an audited headcount.
- The company’s revenue model is not per-article fees.Curvenote has stated publicly that it is moving away from volume based article processing charges toward what it calls a scalable, predictable cost structure for institutions, societies and research groups, a claim that has not been independently verified against actual contracts.
- Two institutional relationships stand in for named customers.Curvenote has not disclosed a customer list or contract values. What is documented instead are two partnerships: with the American Geophysical Union, on a 2023 pilot for notebook based publishing, and with openRxiv, the nonprofit operator of bioRxiv and medRxiv, on the June 2026 Curvenote Reader experiment. Neither partner discloses what, if anything, it pays Curvenote.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Institutional partner | American Geophysical Union partnered with Curvenote in June 2023 to build the Notebooks Now! pilot, hosting up to 20 notebooks on an AGU branded domain; Earth and Space Science opened to notebook submissions in 2024. | Partner-stated |
| Institutional partner | openRxiv (bioRxiv, medRxiv) launched Curvenote Reader in June 2026 as the first experiment in its openRxiv Labs program, tested against a corpus it describes as more than 350,000 preprints. | Partner-stated |
| Open source footprint | mystmd, the document engine originally released by Curvenote, is now governed as a Jupyter sub-project (since June 2024) built jointly with 2i2c and the ExecutableBooks team. | Public record |
| Federal or foundation grants to Curvenote itself | None found. A Sloan Foundation grant (#9231) cited in mystmd’s documentation was awarded to the ExecutableBooks team, not to Curvenote as a company. | Not found |
| Revenue | $440,000 estimated for 2025, GetLatka; not a company disclosed figure. | Third party estimate |
What to watch
- Any SEC filing, Canadian securities filing or amended disclosure that would independently confirm the size of the July 2025 seed round.
- Whether GetLatka or another tracker corrects its $0 funding figure to reflect the company’s own announcement.
- Named paying customers or disclosed contract terms with AGU, openRxiv or any other institution.
- A priced Series A or other follow-on round.
The Curvenote story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordCurvenote company profile
- CompanyCurvenote Raises $1.4M Seed Round to Power the Future of Modular Scientific Communication
- EstimateCurvenote Revenue 2025: $440K Est. ARR
- PartnerNotebooks Now! Enters Pilot Phase
- PartnerLaunching openRxiv Labs
- PartnerTry our first openRxiv Labs experiment: a new interactive reading experience with Curvenote Reader
- Public recordHistory and background, MyST Markdown documentation
- Public recordSEC EDGAR full text search, query “Curvenote”
Compiled from SEC EDGAR records, company statements, partner announcements and a third party revenue estimate as of September 25, 2026. Curvenote is a Canadian company; its reported seed round was denominated in Canadian dollars and no US Form D notice was found under its name. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Curvenote. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
