Funding profile · Digital pathology services
HistoWiz
A $32 million Series A announced in October 2021, and a Regulation D record that stops in June 2016. The gap between the two is the whole story of this filing history.
$32.0MSeries A announced Oct 2021, company-reported, no Form D on file
$1.34MTotal sold across the two Form D notices on record
10Investors counted across both Form D filings
10 yrsSince the last HistoWiz securities filing, June 2016
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | Incorporated in New York as Histowiz, Inc. | Not applicable | Not applicable | Form D |
| Feb 2015 | Equity offering, exemption code 04 as filed | $1,000,000 offered and sold | 1 investor; minimum accepted $1,000,000 | Form D |
| Mar 2016 | Equity offering, Rule 506(b) | $350,000 offered, $344,514 sold | 9 investors | Form D |
| Winter 2016 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Before Oct 2021 | Earlier backers named in the Series A coverage | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, Zhenfund | Company release |
| Oct 19, 2021 | Series A | $32,000,000 | Vivo Capital (lead), venBio, Asahi Kasei, Jon Oringer | Company release, no Form D |
What the filings show
Histowiz, Inc. · Form D · filed Jun 7, 2016
- First sale
- Mar 9, 2016
- Offered
- $350,000 equity
- Sold
- $344,514 · $5,486 remaining
- Investors
- 9 · average about $38,279
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Revenue range
- Decline to Disclose
- Related persons
- Ke Cheng, Brooklyn NY (executive officer, director)
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001635476
Histowiz, Inc. · Form D · filed Mar 4, 2015
- First sale
- Feb 8, 2015
- Offered
- $1,000,000 equity
- Sold
- $1,000,000 · nothing remaining
- Investors
- 1 · minimum accepted from an outside investor $1,000,000
- Exemption
- Code 04 as filed
- Use of proceeds
- $40,000 to executive officers, directors or promoters
- Revenue range
- $1 to $1,000,000
- Related persons
- Ke Cheng, Brooklyn NY (executive officer, director)
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001635476
Reading the filings
- The entire filed record is $1.34 million.$1,000,000 in 2015 plus $344,514 in 2016 is $1,344,514, taken from ten investors in total, all before the middle of 2016. Every dollar raised since then, including the announced $32 million, sits outside Regulation D.
- The 2015 round is one check.One investor, $1,000,000 offered, $1,000,000 sold, and the minimum accepted from an outside investor set at $1,000,000. That shape describes a single backer taking the whole offering, not a syndicate. The same filing reserves $40,000 of the proceeds for payments to executive officers, directors or promoters, and reports company revenue in the $1 to $1,000,000 band.
- The 2016 round is the angel round.Nine investors put in $344,514 of a $350,000 offering, about $38,279 each, with the first sale on March 9, 2016, inside the Y Combinator winter batch. The offering closed $5,486 short of its target.
- The Series A left no Form D.An offering sold only to accredited investors can rely on Section 4(a)(2) and file nothing, so the absence is not evidence that the money did not arrive. It does mean the first sale date, the investor count and the amount actually sold against the $32 million are known only from the company announcement and the coverage that repeated it.
- No filing records the board that governs the Series A.Ke Cheng is the only related person on both notices. Vivo Capital’s Joseph Siletto appears as a board member in the October 2022 CEO announcement, six years after the last filing, and no public filing lists him.
- The incorporation year and the founding year disagree.Both Form Ds give 2012 as the year of incorporation in New York. Company releases from 2023 onward say HistoWiz was founded in 2013. Crunchbase records 2012.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Intellectual property | US 11,900,703, automated tagging of digital histology slides, issued Feb 13, 2024, assigned to HistoWiz, Inc. A second application in the family is published, not granted. | Public record |
| Regulatory | No FDA record and no registered trial. GLP compliant histology and immunohistochemistry announced May 30, 2024. No CLIA or CAP accreditation found. | Company-stated |
| Customers | Sanofi, Regeneron, Bristol Myers Squibb, Johnson and Johnson, Calico, Revolution Medicines and L’Oréal named in trade reporting, November 2024. | Independent |
| Scale | Published customer counts range from more than 500 organizations to over 3,000 global clients, depending on the release. | Figures differ |
| Capacity | 10,197 square foot central lab at the Alexandria Center for Life Science, Long Island City, opened March 2023, alongside Brooklyn and Miami sites. | Company-stated |
| Revenue | Nearly doubled in the year to October 2022, per a Vivo Capital board member. No figure published since. | Company-stated |
| Change of control | No acquisition of HistoWiz was found in SEC filings, acquirer announcements or independent reporting as of September 2026. The company appears independent. | Not found |
What to watch
- A Form D, or any announced round, after five years of silence in the securities record.
- Whether the second application in the tagging patent family issues.
- Named GLP, toxicology or IND enabling programs, which would put revenue behind the 2024 service expansion.
- One reconciled customer count, in place of the four now in circulation.
- Any change of control, which for a venture backed lab of this size would surface first in an acquirer announcement.
The HistoWiz story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm D, Histowiz, Inc., CIK 0001635476
- Public recordForm D, Histowiz, Inc., CIK 0001635476
- Public recordUS Patent 11,900,703
- IndependentHistoWiz Raises $32M in Series A Financing
- IndependentHistoWiz Raises $32-Million Financing to Fully Automate Lab Operations
- IndependentOne scientist’s quest to teach machines to see cancer the way doctors do
- CompanyHistoWiz Raises $32M Series A Financing
- CompanyHistoWiz Appoints Linh Hoang as CEO and Board Member
- CompanyHistoWiz Expands Laboratory Footprint with New Headquarters in Queens
- CompanyHistoWiz Expands Histology and Pathology Service Offerings to Include GLP
- PartnerProtege and HistoWiz Partner to Digitize and Unlock Pathology Data for AI Training
Compiled from SEC, USPTO and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in HistoWiz. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
