Funding profile · Venous disease devices
InnoVein
Two Regulation D offerings five years apart, $13.3 million sold, and a 2023 round that stopped at about a fifth of its target. The filings, not the announcements, are the only continuous record of this company.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Y Combinator, Winter 2016 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC directory |
| By Dec 2017 | Seed round, reported | Not disclosed | Not named | Independent |
| Jun to Oct 2018 | Equity, Rule 506(b) | $11,021,585 offered, $10,748,933 sold | 66, all accredited | Form D and D/A |
| 2017 to 2023 | Federal grants | $1,596,596 | NSF SBIR Phase I and Phase II | NSF |
| Jan 2023 onward | Equity, Rule 506(b) | $11,923,800 offered, $2,545,164 sold | 7, all accredited | Form D |
| Nov 2020 | Total raised, as reported by a tracker | $6.7M | Not named | Differs from filings |
What the filings show
Innovein, Inc. · Form D · filed Jul 3, 2018
- First sale
- Jun 15, 2018
- Offered
- $8,021,623 equity
- Sold
- $6,535,535 · $1,486,088 remaining
- Investors
- 55 · average about $118,800 · no non-accredited investors
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Related persons
- Austin Walker (executive officer, director); Thomas A. Kramer (executive officer); Albert K. Chin (executive officer, director)
- Address
- 1100 Industrial Road, Suite 16, San Carlos, CA
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001745398
Innovein, Inc. · Form D/A · filed Oct 10, 2018
- Amends
- The Jul 3, 2018 filing
- Offered
- $11,021,585 equity
- Sold
- $10,748,933 · $272,652 remaining
- Investors
- 66 · average about $162,900
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Related persons
- Unchanged: Walker, Kramer, Chin
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001745398
Innovein, Inc. · Form D · filed Feb 6, 2023
- First sale
- Jan 25, 2023
- Offered
- $11,923,800 equity
- Sold
- $2,545,164 · $9,378,636 remaining
- Investors
- 7 · average about $363,600
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Related persons
- David Hovda (executive officer, director); Austin Walker (director); Albert K. Chin (director); Robert Whirley (director)
- Address
- 1745 Copperhill Parkway, Suite 7, Santa Rosa, CA
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001745398
InnoVein LLC · Form D · filed Jun 29, 2026 · a different registrant
- Entity
- Nevada limited liability company, Melbourne, FL
- First sale
- Jun 2, 2026
- Security
- Option to acquire, not equity
- Offered
- $700,000 · $375,000 sold
- Investors
- 6 · average $62,500 · minimum investment $25,000
- Related persons
- Thomas Harold Pierce (executive officer, promoter)
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0002141285
Reading the filings
- The 2018 round filled, and then some.July: $8,021,623 offered, $6,535,535 sold from 55 investors, about $118,800 each. October: the offering had been raised to $11,021,585 and $10,748,933 was sold from 66. The 11 investors who came in between put up $4,213,398, roughly $383,000 apiece. That is a round that got bigger because demand was there.
- The 2023 round did not fill.$2,545,164 of $11,923,800, about 21 percent, from 7 investors averaging about $363,600. $9,378,636 was left unsold and no amendment has been filed in the three and a half years since.
- The board turned over with the money.In 2018 Walker and Chin were executive officers and directors and Kramer was an executive officer. By 2023 Walker and Chin are directors only, Kramer is off the filing, David Hovda is the sole executive officer, and Robert Whirley has joined as a director. The registered address moved from San Carlos to Santa Rosa in the same interval.
- About eleven percent of the capital is non dilutive.$1,596,596 of the $14,890,693 visible in public records came from two NSF SBIR awards rather than from investors. The Phase II award ran to March 31, 2023, which is within weeks of the last equity filing.
- One published total does not match the filings.A startup tracker wrote in November 2020 that “To-date, the company has raised $6.7M.” The October 2018 Form D/A already reported $10,748,933 sold. Form D reports amounts sold as of the filing date and is signed by the issuer, so it is the stronger record.
- The 2026 filing under a similar name is a different company.InnoVein LLC is a Nevada limited liability company in Melbourne, Florida, selling options rather than equity, with one named person, Thomas Harold Pierce. No name, address, state of incorporation or CIK overlaps with Innovein, Inc. of Delaware. It should not be counted as a new round here.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k), premarket approval, investigational device exemption or breakthrough designation on record. | Public record |
| Clinical | NCT04253301, estimated enrollment 5, three Australian sites. Registry last posted Sep 17, 2021 and still reads RECRUITING. | Public record |
| Revenue | Every Form D answers Decline to Disclose in the revenue range field. | Public record |
| Intellectual property | Three granted US patents assigned to Innovein, Inc., plus published US and European applications. | Public record |
| Status | Y Combinator lists the company as Inactive. A startup tracker lists 2 employees as of May 2026 and $13.4M raised, close to the $13.29M in the filings. | Listing |
What to watch
- An amended or new Form D for the 2023 offering. $9,378,636 of it remains unsold.
- Any assignment or sale of the three granted patents.
- Any update to NCT04253301, frozen since September 2021 with a listed completion date of January 2027.
- Whether anyone raises against this asset again after the FDA sent a not approvable letter for a competing venous valve in August 2025.
The InnoVein story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm D, Innovein, Inc.
- Public recordForm D/A, Innovein, Inc.
- Public recordForm D, Innovein, Inc.
- Public recordForm D, InnoVein LLC, CIK 0002141285
- Public recordNSF SBIR awards 1722221 and 1927074
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT04253301
- Public recordPatents assigned to Innovein, Inc.
- IndependentInnovein Medical On The Move
- IndependentMedtech Startups: Venari Medical, Companion Medical, InnoVein
- IndependentFDA Issues Not-Approvable Letter for enVVeno’s VenoValve for CVI
- CompanyInnoVein company page, batch and status
- ListingInnoVein company profile, funding total and employee count
Compiled from SEC, NSF, USPTO and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in InnoVein. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
