Funding profile · Medical devices and 3D scanning

Standard Cyborg

A seed stage company that raised a reported $2.4 million, never filed a Form D, sold its core software to a listed prosthetics maker in 2020, and was retired by 2022. The absence of filings is the story.

$2.4MSeed round, reported as announced Dec 11, 2018
$2.5MTotal raised, as stated by Forbes in its 30 Under 30 profile
0Form D notices naming Standard Cyborg in SEC full text search
1Asset sale, to Össur, announced May 8, 2020, amount not disclosed

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Winter 2015 Y Combinator batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC page
Feb 10, 2015 Seed Not disclosed Not listed CB Insights
2017 Seed $100,000 Praxis Tracxn
Dec 11, 2018 Seed $2,400,000 Trevor Blackwell, Scott Banister, Kenneth Ballenegger Crunchbase
Mar 1, 2019 Seed VC $120,000 Right Side Capital Management CB Insights
May 8, 2020 Asset sale of the design and visualization software to Össur Not disclosed Not applicable Joint release

What the filings show

Standard Cyborg, Inc. · no Form D on record

Searched
SEC EDGAR full text search, all form types, exact phrase
Result
0 filings
Filer record
No EDGAR filer under this name
Reading
Securities sold under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D require no Form D, so the gap does not mean no money moved
Checked
Sep 23, 2026

Pooled vehicles named Cyborg · Form D · 2019 and 2020 · not attributed

Filers
Cyborg, a Series of PAA Master Fund, LLC (CIK 0001762042); Cyborg Bridge, a Series of PAA Master Fund, LLC (CIK 0001794729); Cyborg, a Series of Assure Labs 2020, LLC (CIK 0001804100)
Sold
$897,441 from 30 investors, first sale Dec 27, 2018; $707,500 from 28 investors, first sale Dec 23, 2019; $38,000 from 5 investors, first sale Mar 19, 2020
Type
Pooled investment funds · Rule 506(b) and Investment Company Act 3(c)(1)
Related persons
Assure Fund Management II, LLC of Salt Lake City as manager; Princeton Alumni Angels, LLC named as a director of the first vehicle
Caution
None of these filings names Standard Cyborg or any portfolio company. No public source connects them to it. They appear here only because a name search returns them, and they are not evidence about this company either way.

Reading the filings

  1. The company never filed anything.A sale of securities under Regulation D normally produces a Form D within 15 days of the first sale. Standard Cyborg raised for at least four years and produced none. That points to private placements under Section 4(a)(2), the route that leaves no federal paper trail, which is common for small angel rounds and convertible notes in a YC company.
  2. The aggregators disagree by a factor of twenty four.Crunchbase records a $2.4 million seed announced Dec 11, 2018. Forbes wrote that the company had raised $2.5 million. CB Insights totals $240,000 across three rounds. Tracxn totals $100,000 in one. With no Form D and no press release naming a figure, nothing arbitrates, and the defensible range for total capital is $100,000 to $2.5 million.
  3. The named investors are angels, not funds.The three names attached to the 2018 round are Trevor Blackwell, a Y Combinator partner, and the angel investors Scott Banister and Kenneth Ballenegger. The one firm named anywhere, Right Side Capital Management, writes small pre seed checks. No priced institutional round appears in any source, which fits a company with four employees at the end of 2020.
  4. The exit was an asset sale, not a company sale.Össur bought the rights to the software in May 2020 and renamed it Össur Design Studio. The company continued about two more years as a computer vision platform before the site read that it had been retired. No price was disclosed, and Össur, a Nasdaq Copenhagen issuer, did not quantify the purchase in its announcement.
  5. What was left over went out for free.The scanning SDK was released under the MIT license, with commercial prosthetics use barred until Jan 1, 2023. That carve out is the clearest surviving trace of the Össur deal terms: the buyer got a clear field in prosthetics for two and a half years, and everyone else got the code.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) or PMA record under the company name, and none claimed. Public record
Buyer relationship Össur North America was listed as a software user in 2018 and bought the technology in 2020. Company-stated
Product after the sale Össur Design Studio sign in page archived Jun 6, 2026, six years after the purchase. Public record
SDK customer North launched Focals Showroom in Sep 2019 on Standard Cyborg tools. Google acquired North in Jun 2020 and Focals was cancelled. Independent
Consumer traction Capture described by the company as the number one 3D scanning app in the App Store, with hundreds of thousands of users. Never independently verified. Company-stated
Intellectual property One patent assigned to Standard Cyborg, Inc. for a 3D scanning toolkit. Public record
Head count 4 employees as of Dec 31, 2020. Tracxn
Status Homepage retired by May 2022. Repository readme states the company no longer exists. Public record

What to watch

  • No further filings should be expected. The entity has no EDGAR presence at all, so a first filing would itself be news.
  • Reassignment of the patent, which would surface in USPTO assignment records.
  • Whether Embla Medical, the Össur parent, keeps Design Studio in service.
  • Chroma, co-founded by Jeff Huber after Standard Cyborg, which raised an $18 million seed in 2023.

The Standard Cyborg story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR full text search for Standard Cyborg, all forms, no resultSEC · checked Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordForm D filings of Cyborg, Cyborg Bridge and Cyborg, a Series of Assure Labs 2020SEC · 2019 to 2020
  3. Public recordPatent assigned to Standard Cyborg, Inc., 3D scanning toolkitJustia Patents · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  4. Public recordStandardCyborgSDK license terms and StandardCyborgCocoa readmeGitHub · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  5. Public recordstandardcyborg.com retired notice and ossurdesignstudio.com sign in pageInternet Archive · May 15, 2022 and Jun 6, 2026
  6. IndependentSeed round record for Standard Cyborg, $2.4M announcedCrunchbase · Dec 11, 2018
  7. IndependentStandard Cyborg funding, investors and round historyCB Insights · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  8. IndependentStandard Cyborg company profile, funding and head countTracxn · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  9. IndependentStandard Cyborg, 30 Under 30 profileForbes · 2018
  10. IndependentGoogle acquires North, whose Focals 2.0 won’t shipTechCrunch · Jun 30, 2020
  11. IndependentChroma bags $18M to speed up AI models with its embedding databaseSiliconANGLE · Apr 6, 2023
  12. CompanyÖssur Acquires Scanning and Design Technology from Standard CyborgÖssur and Embla Medical newsroom · May 8, 2020
  13. CompanyAnnouncing the launch of Focals Showroom, powered by Standard CyborgStandard Cyborg on Medium · Sep 18, 2019

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Standard Cyborg. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.