Funding profile · Virtual pulmonary rehabilitation
Kivo Health
Kivo Health’s own Y Combinator page says it raised a $10 million Series A. No SEC Form D for the company exists to confirm it, and a third party aggregator puts total funding at $500,000. Here is what the record actually shows.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | Y Combinator, Winter 2023 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| 2023 | Seed, aggregate | $500,000 reported | Y Combinator and, per Tracxn, MassMutual Ventures and 3 other investors | Third party data |
| 2024 | Additional investment | Not disclosed | MassMutual Ventures | Investor-stated |
| By early 2023 | Series A | $10,000,000 stated | Not named | Company-stated |
What the filings show
There is nothing to show. A search of SEC EDGAR’s full text index for the exact phrase “Kivo Health,” with and without a Form D filter, returns zero filings. A separate search of EDGAR’s company database for any issuer named “Kivo” that has filed a Form D turns up only one match, and it is a different business: Kivo, Inc. of Portland, Oregon, formerly named Virtual Regulatory Solutions, Inc., run by Toban Zolman, which sells regulatory submission software to life sciences companies and has filed five Form D notices under CIK 0001917508 between 2022 and 2025. None of those filings name Kivo Health, its founders, or its investors.
That leaves the company’s own Y Combinator page, which states in the founders’ section that Kivo Health “just raised our $10M Series A,” as the only source for that figure. No press release, investor announcement, or filing naming a lead investor, valuation, or close date for that round was found anywhere in this research.
Reading the filings
- No Form D exists for Kivo Health.A $10 million Series A of the kind described on the company’s Y Combinator page would ordinarily require a Form D within 15 days of the first sale of securities under Regulation D, unless the raise was structured entirely as convertible notes or SAFEs below the reporting threshold, or under an exemption that does not require the filing. As of September 25, 2026, none has appeared.
- The name looks like it should collide with a real filer, and does not.Kivo, Inc. of Portland, Oregon is a going concern with its own Form D history, its own CEO, and no connection to Kivo Health beyond a shared short name. Anyone searching SEC EDGAR for “Kivo” will find that company first.
- Third party estimates and the company do not agree.Tracxn, a data aggregator, lists Kivo Health’s total funding as $500,000 from a single 2023 seed round tied to Y Combinator. That is 5 percent of the $10 million the company’s own page claims for its Series A alone.
- An investor’s own timeline sits awkwardly against the company’s claim.MassMutual Ventures lists 2024 as the year of its initial funding in Kivo Health, a year after the Y Combinator page’s Series A language first appeared. Whether that investment was part of the stated Series A, a later round, or a separate check cannot be determined from public sources.
- Absence of a filing is evidence of absence here, not proof of nothing happening.Kivo Health plainly has institutional backing: it operates partnerships with Stanford Health Care, Optum Arcadia and Priority Health, and it lists a Y Combinator batch, a UCSF Rosenman Institute affiliation, and an investor with its own public portfolio page. What is missing is any document that states, with a name attached, how much money changed hands.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Clinical evidence | Peer reviewed retrospective study of 167 patients, published Feb 2025 in Chronic Obstr Pulm Dis. 88 percent median attendance, about 1 percent adverse event rate. | Public record |
| Health system partnership | Stanford Health Care collaboration announced Jun 2025 for value based COPD care. | Company-stated |
| Payer partnership | Priority Health, covering more than 1.3 million Michigan members, partnered Dec 2025 for Medicare, Medicaid and HIDE-SNP members. | Company-stated |
| Managed care partnership | Optum Arcadia and Optum California launched a joint program Apr 2026 combining clinician led care coordination with Kivo’s platform. | Company-stated |
| Team size | Y Combinator lists a current team size of 40. A separate, unverified secondary aggregator profile cites 14 people in 2024 and about 31 more recently. | Differs across sources |
| Regulatory status | No FDA 510(k) or PMA filing found. No NIH or NSF award found under Kivo Health. | Not found |
What to watch
- A Form D or other public filing that names investors and confirms the size of the reported Series A.
- Whether MassMutual Ventures or any other investor is named as a lead on that round.
- Independent, named reporting of the company’s revenue, patient volume or team size, none of which was found in this research.
- Whether the company clarifies, on its own materials, that it is unrelated to Kivo, Inc. of Portland, Oregon.
The Kivo Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR full text search, “Kivo Health” (zero Form D results)
- Public recordForm D filings, Kivo, Inc., CIK 0001917508
- Public recordFilizola H, Kumar A, Buhr RG, Schwab Jensen K. Outcomes of virtual pulmonary rehabilitation in oxygen-dependent COPD patients
- InvestorMassMutual Ventures portfolio page, Kivo Health
- Third party dataKivo Health funding rounds and investors
- CompanyKivo Health: AI-powered care for seniors with chronic disease
- CompanyOptum Arcadia and Kivo Health launch AI-powered, virtual lung rehab and care for patients in California
- CompanyStanford Health Care and Kivo Health collaborate to advance value based care for COPD through virtual pulmonary rehabilitation
- IndependentPriority Health partners with Kivo Health to deliver AI-powered virtual COPD care
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Kivo Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
