Funding profile · Healthcare IT, clinical documentation

Knowtex

Knowtex has no SEC Form D on record. What it does have is a confirmed $14,995,950 federal contract and a spot, by its own account, on a five year VA vehicle with a shared ceiling of $775.72 million. Here is what is filed, what is reported, and what is only claimed.

$14.99MVA ambient documentation contract, confirmed via USASpending
$775.72MShared 5 year ceiling of VA’s new multi award IDIQ, all vendors combined
$3.5MTotal equity raised, reported by Forbes, Dec 2025
0Form D filings found under “Knowtex” in SEC EDGAR

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2022 Y Combinator Not disclosed Y Combinator Company
2022 Seed, per Tracxn $500,000 (Tracxn estimate) Y Combinator listed as lead Data aggregator
Undated Angel and program backing Not disclosed HF0, Stanford StartX Med, Texas Medical Center Innovation, AWS, UCSF Rosenman Institute, MedTech Innovators, Jeff Dean Company-stated
By Dec 2025 Cumulative total raised $3,500,000 Not itemized Forbes
By Sep 2026 Additional angel capital Not disclosed Jeff Dean named specifically by the company Company-stated

What the filings show

There is nothing to show. A search of SEC EDGAR’s full text search system for “Knowtex”, with and without a Form D filter, returns zero results, and EDGAR’s company search for the name under Form D also returns nothing, as of September 25, 2026. The only federal filing on record for the company is the VA contract itself, which is a procurement award, not a securities filing.

Knowtex Inc · VA contract award 36C10G25C0013 · USASpending record

Start date
Jul 21, 2025
End date
Mar 20, 2027
Award amount
$14,995,950
Awarding agency
Department of Veterans Affairs
Scope
Cloud hosted, commercial off the shelf ambient dictation software as a service, compliant with VA ATO and FedRAMP
Filing
USASpending.gov, award 36C10G25C0013

Reading the filings

  1. The federal contract dwarfs the disclosed equity.The $14,995,950 VA award is more than four times the $3.5 million in total private funding Forbes reported for Knowtex weeks earlier, in December 2025. Most of the company’s confirmed money is a government services contract, not venture capital.
  2. The recorded start date predates the public announcement.USASpending lists the contract’s start date as July 21, 2025. Knowtex’s own materials and contemporaneous Fierce Healthcare coverage date the award to October 2025, about three months later. That gap is typical of federal procurement, where paperwork clears before a public rollout is announced.
  3. No Form D means no confirmed equity terms.Companies that raise through SAFEs, convertible notes, or under Section 4(a)(2) rather than a Regulation D offering can go years without filing a Form D. The absence of a filing here does not prove no money moved, but it does mean the $500,000 and $3.5 million figures in circulation rest on a data aggregator and a magazine report, not a securities filing.
  4. The larger number belongs to a program, not a company.The $775.72 million figure is the shared five year ceiling across every vendor awarded a slot on VA’s new Ambient Scribe Enterprise IDIQ, to be competed order by order. It is not money owed or committed to Knowtex specifically.
  5. Knowtex’s claim to that larger contract rests on its own statement so far.Nextgov/FCW’s September 22, 2026 story on the new IDIQ was built around a press release from Abridge and named Abridge as the vendor VA would continue working with. The outlet added, after initial publication, that Knowtex told it the company had also been selected, and that VA had not responded to a request for comment by then. Knowtex’s own release calls itself one of two prime awardees; no VA source independently confirms that split in the sources checked here.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
VA Tech Sprint standing Named one of 15 finalists in the ambient dictation track, January 2025, not the “top 3 of 150” the company’s site now states. Differs from record
First VA contract $14,995,950 awarded, confirmed via USASpending. Public record
Deployment scale 79 VA medical centers, 310+ VA facilities, 7,000+ clinicians, more than 450,000 documentation hours saved, all company figures. Company-stated
Peer-reviewed outcomes JCO Oncology Practice study, company co-authored, showed higher billing per working day at a community oncology practice. Public record
Customer base “300+ organizations nationwide,” not itemized by name. Company-stated
Revenue trajectory Company says it is cash flow positive with 10x revenue growth and 100x customer growth since the start of 2026. No independent financial data found. Company-stated

What to watch

  • Whether VA itself, rather than Knowtex, publicly confirms the company as a prime awardee on the $775.72 million IDIQ.
  • A first Form D or other SEC filing if Knowtex closes a priced equity round.
  • Whether Knowtex or a health system discloses named non federal customers and contract values.
  • Task orders issued to Knowtex under the new IDIQ, which would confirm real revenue against the ceiling figure.

The Knowtex story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordAward record 36C10G25C0013, Knowtex IncUSASpending.gov · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  2. Public recordSEC EDGAR full text search and company search, “Knowtex”SEC · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  3. Public recordVA chooses finalists in health care worker burnout competitionVA News · Jan 30, 2025
  4. IndependentVA plans to award AI tech sprint winners contracts for ambient medical transcription servicesFedScoop, Caroline Nihill · Jul 15, 2024
  5. IndependentVA plans to roll out Abridge and Knowtex AI tech across its health systemFierce Healthcare, Emma Beavins and Heather Landi · Sep 22, 2025
  6. IndependentAbridge selected for VA ambient AI enterprise contractNextgov/FCW, Christian Robles · Sep 22, 2026
  7. IndependentVA Awards New AI Scribe Contract, With Lessons for Governing AI at ScaleCDO Magazine, Tathagata Sen · Sep 23, 2026
  8. IndependentKnowtex, 30 Under 30 Finance 2026 profileForbes · Dec 2, 2025
  9. IndependentKnowtex company profileTracxn · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  10. CompanyKnowtex, the First Frontier AI Lab for Healthcare, Named Prime Awardee on VA’s Nine-Figure Ambient Scribe Enterprise ContractGlobeNewswire · Sep 25, 2026
  11. CompanyKnowtex Launches the Frontier AI Lab for HealthcarePR Newswire · Sep 15, 2026

Compiled from SEC, USASpending and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; none was found for this company. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Knowtex. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.