Funding profile · Women’s health and wellness
Liv Labs
No SEC filing has ever been made for this company. What is on record is $2,492,073 of federal grant money, a $29,069 crowdfunding round, and a company-stated pre-seed total of $3.1 million.
$2.49MFederal SBIR awards on record, NIH and NSF
$3.1MPre-seed total, company-reported (Jul 2024)
$29,069Kickstarter, 209 backers (Jul 2025)
0Form D filings in SEC EDGAR, ever
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Source of funds | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | South Side Pitch, first prize | $5,000 plus a year at the Polsky Exchange | Polsky Center and Institute for Justice Clinic on Entrepreneurship | Independent |
| Apr 2021 | NIH SBIR Direct Phase II | $1,673,987 over two years | NICHD, award R44HD105574 | NIH |
| By Aug 2021 | Friends and family | “over $200,000 from friends and family” | Not named | Independent |
| Summer 2021 | Y Combinator batch S21 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | Company-stated |
| Jan 2022 | NSF SBIR Phase I | $255,078 | NSF, award 2126867 | NSF |
| Jul 2024 | NIH SBIR Phase IIB continuation | $563,008 | NICHD, award 2R44HD105574-03 | NIH |
| Undated | State of Illinois SBIR support | Not disclosed | State of Illinois | Company-stated |
| Jun to Jul 2025 | Kickstarter, product presale | $29,069 against a $7,268 goal | 209 backers | Kickstarter |
What the public record shows
Liv Labs Inc. · SEC EDGAR · searched Sep 22, 2026
- Form D filings
- None. No registrant named Liv Labs exists in EDGAR.
- Full text search
- Zero documents of any form type mention the company.
- Name collisions
- 95 Form D filers match the string LIV, including LIV Development multifamily partnerships, Hudson Housing Tax Credit Fund LIV and Universa Black Swan Protection Protocol LIV. None is this company.
- Reading
- No priced equity round has ever been noticed to the SEC under Regulation D.
NIH R44HD105574 · NICHD · FY2021 to FY2024
- Awards
- $951,491 (FY2021), $722,496 (FY2022), $563,008 (FY2024)
- Total
- $2,236,995
- Project period
- Apr 9, 2021 to Jul 31, 2025
- PI and org
- Roberts, Melody Ann · LIV LABS INC.
- Purpose of the last award
- Nonclinical testing in support of FDA 510(k) clearance requirements
NSF 2126867 · SBIR Phase I · awarded Jan 3, 2022
- Obligated
- $255,078
- Period
- Jan 15, 2022 to Jul 31, 2023
- Awardee address
- Decatur, GA · UEI XBM9L92LT4D1
- PI and co-PI
- Melody A Roberts · Holly B Jimison, Northeastern University
- Phase II
- None awarded, though the outcomes report states the intent to seek one
Reading the record
- There is no Form D, and there never was one.An issuer selling under Regulation D must notice the SEC within 15 days of first sale. An issuer relying on Section 4(a)(2) files nothing. Either way, nine years of private financing leave no trace in SEC records, so every equity figure below comes from the company or from a reporter.
- Four fifths of the disclosed capital is non-dilutive.$2,492,073 of federal awards against a company-stated pre-seed total of $3.1M leaves roughly $608,000 from every other source combined. That has to cover the friends-and-family money, whatever Y Combinator put in, and the State of Illinois support the company cites.
- The July 2024 arithmetic does not close.That release said “Previous grant awards to Liv Labs (from all sources) now total over $2.5M.” Federal databases at that date show $1,929,065: $1,673,987 from NICHD and $255,078 from NSF. The gap of about $571,000 is attributed to the State of Illinois and other sources and appears in no federal record found.
- NSF is cited in the plural and is singular.Company copy refers to SBIR grants from NSF. The NSF awards database returns exactly one award to Liv Labs Inc., a Phase I. The Phase II the outcomes report anticipated was never made.
- The crowdfunding round is the only priced demand signal.209 backers put in $29,069, four times a $7,268 goal, over 30 days. That is product validation at hobby scale, about $139 per backer. It is not a revenue base.
- The capital was spent on a product that is not for sale.The $2.24M from NICHD developed a continence pessary. Its pivotal trial, NCT05611970, was terminated in April 2024 with 7 patients enrolled, and no FDA clearance exists. The live catalog lists fitness kits, an applicator and coaching, and no pessary.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA clearance, registration, listing or UDI record. The product is sold as a fitness and wellness item. | Public record |
| Catalog | 11 items purchasable on Sep 22, 2026, from a $5 glassine bag to a $295 three-week training intensive. Kits at $99, $119, $149 and $179. | Public record |
| Channel | Direct only. The wholesale 30 pack at $2,995 and the 4 pack at $476.80 are both marked unavailable. | Public record |
| Services | Coaching sold alongside hardware: a $79 call and a $295 program, with a named head coach. | Company-stated |
| Headcount | Y Combinator directory lists a team size of 1. The company site names three people. | Company-stated |
| Recognition | Fast Company 2025 Innovation by Design honoree, product design, Sep 2025. | Independent |
What to watch
- A first Form D. It would be the first machine-readable evidence of a priced equity round in the company history.
- Whether the closed NIH grant produces a 510(k) submission, or whether the pessary program is formally retired.
- Whether the wholesale and multipack bundles return to stock, which would signal a retail or clinic channel.
- Any disclosed revenue, unit volume or named distributor.
The Liv Labs story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company search and full text search for Liv Labs
- Public recordNIH RePORTER R44HD105574, awards 01, 02 and 03
- Public recordNSF award 2126867 and project outcomes report
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT05611970, terminated, with results
- Public recordopenFDA device database queries for Liv Labs and Pippa
- IndependentLiv Labs Lands SBIR Grant and Spot in Y Combinator
- Independent78 Million American Women Experience Pelvic Floor Issues
- CompanyLiv Labs Awarded Phase II Continuation SBIR Grant by the NIH
- CompanyPippa Recognized by Fast Company, with funder list
- CompanyGet fit, inside and out, with Pippa: campaign page and FAQ
- Companylivlabsfitness.com live store catalog
Compiled from SEC, NIH, NSF, FDA and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. No Form D has been filed by or for this company, so no Regulation D offering amounts exist to report. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Liv Labs. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
