Funding profile · Point of need diagnostics
LSK Technologies
A University of Toronto spinout that raised small cheques from an incubator fund, an accelerator and angels, never closed the seed round it announced, and sold itself in May 2022 for undisclosed terms. It filed no Form D.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and investor-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 27, 2020 | Pre-seed, pitch competition award | $100,000 | Velocity Fund, half from its first micro fund, half from its new health tech fund | Incubator release |
| Summer 2020 | Accelerator | US$150,000 | Y Combinator, Summer 2020 batch | University |
| By Dec 2020 | Cumulative | About $350,000 | Mix of angels, small funds and non-dilutive sources | Investor |
| 2020 to 2021 | Federal grant, LSK as supporting partner | $500,000 | Canadian Institutes of Health Research per the university; an investor called it a Government of Canada partnership grant | Institution stated |
| 2021 | Seed round, announced target | $2,000,000 | None named. No close was ever announced | Company stated |
| May 2, 2022 | Acquisition | Not disclosed | Nicoya Lifesciences, Kitchener, Ontario | Announcement and counsel record |
What the filings show
There are none. A Form D search returns no Regulation D notice filed by LSK Technologies Inc. or Life Sciences Key Technologies. Two EDGAR entities carry similar names. Both are set out below so they are not mistaken for it.
Fund FG-LSK, a series of Forge Investments LLC · Form D and amendments · 2019 to Apr 23, 2026
- What it is
- A Delaware series LLC at 4 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco
- Manager
- Forge Global Advisors LLC, the secondary market platform
- Filings
- Eleven notices between Nov 2019 and Apr 2026
- Why it is not LSK
- It filed before LSK Technologies existed and four years after LSK was acquired. Forge series funds hold secondary positions in large late stage private companies
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001793227
LSK BioPartners, Inc. · Form D · Aug 1, 2018 and May 10, 2019
- What it is
- A separate US medical device issuer
- Regulatory record
- FDA 510(k) K123476, MEGA 5.5 SPINE SYSTEM, cleared Jan 8, 2013
- Why it is not LSK
- Spinal implants, a US filer, cleared seven years before LSK was incorporated
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001748803
Reading the filings
- The absence is expected, not suspicious.Form D is filed by issuers relying on Regulation D. A Canadian company whose disclosed backers were a Waterloo incubator fund, a student run venture group and Canadian angels has no reason to appear in EDGAR. The absence means no Regulation D offering was noticed, not that no money moved.
- Two thirds of the disclosed money came from two cheques.The Velocity award of $100,000 and the Y Combinator investment of US$150,000 account for roughly $250,000 of the approximately $350,000 an investor reported in December 2020, leaving on the order of $100,000 from angels and non-dilutive sources.
- Grant money exceeded equity.The $500,000 federal award LSK supported as a partner is larger than every disclosed equity cheque combined. No award number was published, so it cannot be matched to a database entry.
- The seed round became the exit.The company said in 2021 it was completing a $2 million seed. No close was announced. Nicoya’s chief executive told BetaKit that LSK was looking to raise before the acquisition took place. The deal landed about a year after the seed target was published.
- Nothing values the exit.Terms were not disclosed, and the transaction appears in outside records only as a counsel credit and trade press. Three employees, both founders among them, moved to a buyer with more than 100 staff. That ratio is the clearest available signal of scale.
- The buyer moved away from the thesis.Nicoya said in 2022 it would sell LSK products under its own brand and pursue point of care uses over time. Its June 2025 purchase of Applied Photophysics, financed by its existing syndicate led by Graphite Ventures with debt from SWK Holdings, positioned it around biologics characterization for drug discovery, with no diagnostics product named.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No Health Canada company record or licence for LSK, Life Sciences Key or Nicoya, checked Sep 23, 2026. No FDA clearance. Products were research use only in 2022. | Public record |
| Orders | 20 pre-orders and 7 letters of intent as of December 2020. No customer has ever been named publicly. | Investor |
| Pricing | PLUM-HT listed with price on request. Build cost cited at about $350 in 2018 and about $500 US in the 2022 and 2026 papers. | Company and papers |
| Deployments | Ecuador, Brazil, Colombia and Canada. Devices cited by catalogue number in two PLOS ONE papers. | Public record |
| Evidence | Four peer reviewed papers from 2022 to 2026 use PLUM. No registered trial found. | Public record |
| Intellectual property | US provisional 62/982,323, filed Feb 27, 2020 by the University of Toronto and assigned to LSK Technologies Inc. No granted patent found. | Public record |
What to watch
- Any device licence or clearance naming Nicoya, which would show the platform reaching a regulated market.
- A granted patent descending from the February 2020 provisional, which would show whether the hardware IP was carried forward.
- Nicoya’s own financing. Its 2025 acquisition used an existing syndicate plus debt, a different posture from the venture rounds of 2020 and 2021.
- Whether FluoroPLUM stays an academic open source instrument or returns as a product.
The LSK Technologies story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR Form D search for LSK Technologies, no results
- Public recordForm D/A, Fund FG-LSK, a series of Forge Investments LLC, CIK 0001793227
- Public recordForm D notices, LSK BioPartners, Inc., CIK 0001748803, and FDA 510(k) K123476
- Public recordDevice company and licence searches, no match
- Public recordValidation of new equipment for SARS-CoV-2 diagnosis in Ecuador
- IndependentNicoya acquires LSK Technologies
- IndependentNicoya expands into molecular testing with acquisition of LSK
- IndependentLSK Technologies Inc. acquired by Nicoya
- InvestorBehind the Deal: LSK Technologies
- IncubatorFive startups take home $300K as Velocity unveils its 2nd pre-seed fund
- UniversityThis is the place to scale up virus testing
- CompanyNicoya completes acquisition of LSK Technologies
- CompanyNicoya Acquires Applied Photophysics
- CompanyLSK Technologies PLUM-HT product page and about page
Compiled from SEC, FDA and Health Canada public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; the absence of a notice does not mean no capital was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in LSK Technologies or Nicoya Lifesciences. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
