Funding profile · Healthcare IT
Mednet
Twelve years old, 35 people, and one reported equity round on the public record, in 2017. Since then the traceable money has come from the federal government and from the industry partners who pay to reach the physicians on the platform.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winter 2017 | Y Combinator | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Jul 14, 2017 | Seed | $1.3M | Endure Capital, Lumia Capital, The Hope Foundation, The Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation, plus angels including Charlie Cheever, Jared Friedman, Paul Buchheit, Peter He and Peter Pham | TechCrunch |
| 2017 | SWOG Hope Foundation grant and Bonnie Addario Lung Cancer Foundation Clinical Trials Innovation prize | Not disclosed | SWOG Hope Foundation; Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation | Company blog |
| Feb to Jul 2019 | NSF SBIR Phase I, award 1843270 | $225,000 | National Science Foundation | NSF |
| 2020 | NSF SBIR Phase II application | Not funded | National Science Foundation | Founder interview |
| Sep 2024 to Sep 2026 | NCI SBIR contract 75N91024C00071 | $2,000,000 | National Cancer Institute | NIH |
| Ongoing | Partnership programs: journal clubs, targeted topics, clinical trial awareness, tumor boards | Not disclosed | ASCO, NCI, NSF and, per the company recruiting profile, “select pharmaceutical companies, and more” | Company-stated |
What the filings show
Mednet, Inc. · no Form D on file · searched Sep 22, 2026
- Query
- EDGAR full text search for theMednet, for Mednet, Inc. and for Housri
- Documents
- 0, 0 and 0
- Company index
- Four EDGAR registrants match the name Mednet. They sit in Nevada, Minnesota and Massachusetts. None is the New York company.
- Nearest false matches
- MedNet Solutions, Inc., CIK 0001613878, Form D filed Jul 16, 2014; ApeniMED, Inc., CIK 0001461936, filed Sep 14, 2011. Both Minnesota clinical trial software firms, unrelated.
- What that means
- An issuer selling under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D files no Form D. The absence is not evidence that no money moved.
- Legal name
- Reported inconsistently: Mednet, Inc. in the NCI award and the 2024 release, TheMednet, LLC on the archived Crunchbase profile.
National Cancer Institute · contract 75N91024C00071 · awarded Sep 16, 2024
- Amount
- $2,000,000
- Period
- Sep 16, 2024 to Sep 15, 2026
- Awardee
- MEDNET, INC.
- Principal investigator
- Nadine Housri
- Mechanism
- SBIR Phase II contract, activity code N44, topic 465
- Scope
- AI trial matching by site activity, user profile, location and patient history, aimed at enrollment and its diversity
- Record
- NIH RePORTER, application 11199161
Reading the filings
- There is no Regulation D paper trail at all.Zero documents across three query terms. For a company YC funded in 2017 that took a reported $1.3 million the same year, that points to Section 4(a)(2) placements rather than Regulation D. Either way, the cap table cannot be reconstructed from SEC records.
- Federal money now outweighs the only reported equity round.$225,000 from NSF plus $2,000,000 from NCI is $2,225,000, about 1.7 times the $1.3 million seed. Non-dilutive capital is the larger visible line.
- The aggregators contradict the contemporaneous report.Tracxn records a total of $120,000 across two rounds and attributes the $120,000 to Y Combinator. TechCrunch, reporting on the day, put the seed at $1.3 million with five named institutions and five named angels. The gap is a factor of about eleven. Treat aggregator totals here as unreliable.
- Nine years without a reported round.July 14, 2017 to September 22, 2026. A 35-person company that has gone that long without announcing equity is either profitable from partnership revenue, financed quietly, or both. The public record does not settle it.
- The customer is not the user.Physicians pay nothing. The 2022 JMIR acknowledgment names “private investors, and industry partners” among the funders, and the recruiting profile names “select pharmaceutical companies, and more.” The partnerships page sells journal clubs, targeted topics and trial awareness campaigns. No sponsor is named on the site, and no program is labeled as sponsored.
- The federal contract ran out one week before this page.The NCI contract ended Sep 15, 2026, and no renewal or follow-on award appears on the record. That removes the largest identified line of funding unless it is replaced.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Accreditation | Joint providership with the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, an ACCME accredited provider. Up to 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and up to 20 ABIM and ABP MOC Part II points, 2024 activity. | Public record |
| Academic footprint | 23 tumor board programs at 16 NCI designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers, Dec 2016 to Jul 2021, documented in a peer-reviewed paper. | Public record |
| Society partnerships | ASCO journal clubs; free platform access for members of the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology. | Company-stated |
| Federal validation | NSF SBIR Phase I 2019; NCI SBIR Phase II contract 2024. A 2020 NSF Phase II application was not funded. | Public record |
| Scale | 45,000 verified physicians, 3,700 experts, 23 specialties, 35 employees. Not audited, and the figures have moved materially within 18 months. | Company-stated |
| Reach claim | “utilized by over 85% of U.S. oncologists” and “nine out of 10 doctors extremely likely to recommend it to a colleague.” No methodology published. | Company-stated |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would be the earliest public signal of an institutional round.
- A renewal, option year or follow-on award after the NCI contract ended Sep 15, 2026.
- Named industry partners and labeling of sponsored content, which would let a buyer price the editorial risk.
- The six-month resurvey of the 294 oncologists promised in the 2026 ASCO abstract.
- Any disclosure of revenue, or of how much of it comes from pharmaceutical sponsors.
The Mednet story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR full text search and company index for Mednet and Housri
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, NCI contract 75N91024C00071, application 11199161
- Public recordNSF SBIR Phase I award 1843270
- Public recordMaking NCI Designated Comprehensive Cancer Center Knowledge Accessible to Community Oncologists via an Online Tumor Board, including the acknowledgments
- IndependentQuora for cancer startup theMednet raises $1.3 million in seed funding
- IndependenttheMednet funding rounds and investors
- IndependentThe Mednet company profile, legal name TheMednet, LLC
- InterviewNouveau Teaching Ventures in the Digital Era
- CompanytheMednet Awarded $2M Contract by the National Cancer Institute
- CompanyMednet partnerships page, about page and home page
- CompanyMednet company page and recruiting profile
Compiled from SEC, NSF, NIH and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; an issuer relying on Section 4(a)(2) files none, so the absence of a filing is not evidence that no capital was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Mednet. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
