Funding profile · Microbial genomics software
One Codex
A company with no Form D, no venture round on public record since 2014, and one exact, audited price: $83,391,000, paid by Invitae in February 2021 and written down to roughly nothing nineteen months later.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | Y Combinator, Summer 2014 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Jul 2014 | Seed | $120,000 total equity, per aggregators | Y Combinator, Healthy Ventures | Aggregator |
| 2014 onward | Venture investment | Not disclosed | DCVC, first investment 2014, later marked exited | Investor site |
| Jan 2015 | CDC challenge prize | $200,000 | Centers for Disease Control and Prevention | Trade press |
| Mar 2017 | DTRA SBIR Phase I purchase order | $149,871 | Defense Threat Reduction Agency | USAspending |
| Feb 2021 | Acquisition by Invitae | $83,391,000 | Invitae Corp (NVTA) | SEC 10-Q |
| Sep 2022 | Sale back to the team | Immaterial cash proceeds | One Codex employees | SEC 10-K |
What the filings show
Invitae Corp · Form 10-Q, Q1 2021 · filed May 4, 2021
- Target
- Reference Genomics, Inc. d/b/a One Codex, 100 percent of the equity interest
- Closed
- February 2021
- Upfront
- $17.3 million cash and 1.4 million shares of Invitae common stock
- Hold-back
- About 0.2 million of those shares, in escrow for indemnification, released in full to the former stockholders in February 2022
- Purchase price
- Cash transferred $16,504,000 · hold-back stock $8,113,000 · common stock transferred $58,774,000 · total $83,391,000
- Post-combination expense
- $3,742,000, booked separately from the purchase price
- Assets acquired
- Cash $1,549,000 · receivables $684,000 · developed technology $23,841,000 · customer relationships $440,000 · goodwill $63,442,000
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001501134
Invitae Corp · Form 10-K, FY2022 · filed Feb 28, 2023
- Event
- Sale of the equity interest in One Codex and certain related assets, September 2022
- Proceeds
- An immaterial amount of cash, per the filing
- Accounting
- Treated as an asset sale, since substantially all of the fair value sat in developed technology and certain customer relationships
- Carrying value sold
- Developed technology $19.4 million · customer relationships $0.4 million
- Result
- Loss of approximately $19.8 million in the three months ended September 30, 2022, recorded in restructuring and other costs
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001501134
Reading the filings
- The goodwill was three quarters of the price.Of $83,391,000, only $19,949,000 was net identifiable assets. Goodwill was $63,442,000, or 76 percent. Invitae said it related primarily to expansion of the acquired technology into new areas of genetic testing. That expansion did not happen, and the goodwill went with the realignment.
- Most of the consideration was paper.Cash was $16,504,000, about 20 percent. The other $66,887,000 was Invitae common stock valued at the February 2021 price. What the sellers actually realized depended entirely on how fast they sold.
- The write-down is smaller than it looks.Invitae lost about $19.8 million on the sale, not $83.4 million. The intangibles had already amortized from $24.3 million of book value to $19.8 million, and the $63.4 million of goodwill went out in the general impairment rather than in this transaction. The economic loss is closer to the full purchase price.
- There is no Form D, and there probably never was one.SEC EDGAR full text search for “One Codex” returns 32 filings, every one of them by Invitae or by unrelated issuers. A company search for Form D under either name returns no matching companies. A YC seed of this size is typically done under Section 4(a)(2) or on a SAFE, which files nothing.
- The aggregators are not tracking this company.Tracxn shows $120,000 in one 2014 round, CB Insights shows $20,000, a 2014 Crunchbase snapshot shows $120,000 from Y Combinator and Healthy Ventures. Yet DCVC lists One Codex with a 2014 first investment and an Invitae exit, and Bio-IT World reported in 2015 that the team had raised a private round from undisclosed investors. The public totals are floors, not figures.
- Federal money was never the funding story.Two contracts exist: $149,871 from the Defense Threat Reduction Agency in 2017 and a US Geological Survey purchase order in 2020 with zero obligated. NIH RePORTER returns no projects under either company name. The $200,000 CDC award in January 2015 was challenge prize money, not a contract, and it came with no follow-on award on record.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Ownership | Independent since September 2022, via what Y Combinator describes as an employee buyout. | Public record |
| Supply chain | Lab services relationship with Invitae retained after the spin-out, so the sequencing workflow did not change. | Company-stated |
| Partners | ATCC since 2017, including the ATCC Genome Portal. Transnetyx since 2021. 4bases since 2023 for CE-IVD clinical use in the EU. | Partner-stated |
| Scale | More than 2 million analyses and thousands of users, per a 2023 partner release. No named end customer and no revenue figure has been published. | Company-stated |
| Independent validation | Evaluated in at least three peer reviewed benchmarks between 2020 and 2022, including a Mayo Clinic head to head against CosmosID and IDbyDNA. | Peer reviewed |
| Headcount | Aggregators put the company at 1 to 10 employees as of July 2024. | Unverified |
What to watch
- A first Form D. Nothing has been filed under Reference Genomics, Inc. or One Codex, so any priced outside round should show up within 15 days of first sale.
- New federal awards. The biosecurity thread from the 2017 DTRA order has never been picked back up on the public record.
- Whether the 4bases CE-IVD path turns into a regulated revenue line in Europe.
- Any disclosure of the buyout terms, which would settle what the team actually paid Invitae in 2022.
The One Codex story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordInvitae Corp Form 10-Q, Q1 2021, business combinations note
- Public recordInvitae Corp Form 10-K FY2022, disposition of One Codex
- Public recordFederal awards HDTRA117P0016 and 140G0120P0339 to Reference Genomics, Inc.
- Public recordEDGAR full text and company searches for One Codex and Reference Genomics, no Form D
- IndependentOne Codex and Microbiology’s Search Problem
- IndependentStartup One Codex Building Platform to ID Pathogens from NGS Data
- IndependentOne Codex portfolio page, first investment 2014, exit marked Invitae
- AggregatorCompany and funding profiles for One Codex
- CompanyA Bright Future for One Codex
- CompanyOne Codex company and founder profile, YC Summer 2014
- PartnerOne Codex and 4bases team up to empower clinicians in the EU
Compiled from SEC, USAspending, NIH and USPTO public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no Form D has been filed by or for this company, and companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) file none. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in One Codex. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
