Funding profile · Hospital quality software
Pharos
One reported seed round of $5 million, four named investors, and no Form D on file with the SEC. The paper trail is thinner than the press coverage.
$5.0MSeed round announced Oct 25, 2024, led by Felicis
0Form D notices filed with the SEC by this company
4Named investors in the seed round
22 moSince the last disclosed financing
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summer 2024 | Y Combinator batch S24 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Before Oct 2024 | Pre-seed | Not disclosed | Moxxie (lead) | Company release |
| Oct 25, 2024 | Seed, described as oversubscribed | $5,000,000 | Felicis (lead), General Catalyst, Moxxie, Y Combinator | Company release |
| Oct 2024 to Sep 2026 | No further round announced | $0 disclosed | None | Not found |
| All years | Federal grants | $0 | No NIH or NSF award to this company | NIH, NSF |
What the filings show
Pharos · no Form D on file · searched Sep 22, 2026
- Company search
- Form type D returns five Pharos filers: Pharos Capital Partners III, IV and IV-A, Pharos Healthcare IV Access Fund, Pharos Innovations LLC. None is this company.
- Full text search
- Zero hits for Pharos Health, for Felix Brann, and for Matthew Jones with Pharos.
- Form D naming Pharos, 2024 to 2026
- Three, from Pharos Capital Partners IV, L.P. and Fund I, a series of Pharos Ventures, LP, a Seattle vehicle.
- Reported round
- $5,000,000, Oct 25, 2024, sourced to the company
- Named investors
- Felicis (lead), General Catalyst, Moxxie, Y Combinator
- Related persons
- On no filing. Felix Brann CEO, Matthew Jones CTO, Alex Clarke head of research, per the company.
- Filing
- No CIK for this company in SEC EDGAR
Reading the filings
- The round is reported, not filed.A Regulation D offering triggers a Form D within 15 days of first sale. There is none. An offering under Section 4(a)(2) files nothing, so the gap is not evidence that no money moved. It does mean the $5 million rests on the October 25, 2024 release alone. No filing confirms amount sold, purchaser count or security type.
- Four named investors against $5.0 million.Split evenly that is $1,250,000 each. Felicis is named as lead and Y Combinator invests on standard batch terms, so the lead holds more than a quarter and Y Combinator less. The purchaser count cannot be checked.
- The pre-seed has no public number.Moxxie is credited with leading it. No amount, date or filing marks it.
- Twenty two months without a new round.October 25, 2024 to September 22, 2026 is 22 months and 28 days. The careers page live in September 2026 still reads “We raised a $5m seed funding round at the end of 2024.” Spread evenly, $5,000,000 over 22 months is about $227,000 a month. Y Combinator lists the team at five; three roles were open on September 22, 2026.
- Namesakes swamp any search on the name.Pharos Network, a layer 1 blockchain, raised a $44 million Series A in April 2026. Pharos Capital Partners is a private equity firm. Pharos Life Corporation holds five FDA 510(k) clearances. Pharos University in Alexandria sponsors about a dozen trials. Pharos, LLC took a 2004 NIH award. Any database keyed on the name mixes them.
- No non-dilutive capital.Nothing in NIH RePORTER or the NSF award database belongs to this company. Every dollar on record is equity.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA submission. Administrative software, not a diagnostic, so none is required today. | Public record |
| Evidence | CMSS annual meeting, November 2025. Four College of American Pathologists measures, about 2,000 pathology reports, gold labels from Kiser Healthcare Solutions. Reported as matching human accuracy and inter-rater reliability. Not peer reviewed. | Company-stated |
| Customers | None named in any public source. | Not found |
| Security | A SOC2 Type 2 badge on the site; the site security page, updated September 2026, says that audit is still under way. | Claims disagree |
| Headcount | Team size 5 on the Y Combinator page. Three full time San Francisco roles open on September 22, 2026. | Public record |
| Press | Coverage clusters on the October 2024 seed. No independent article found after November 2024. | Not found |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would date the next round and give a filed amount.
- A Series A. None announced 22 months after the seed.
- The CMSS paper, promised in November 2025.
- A named hospital customer.
- A completed SOC 2 Type 2 report.
The Pharos story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search, form D
- Public recordFund I, a series of Pharos Ventures, LP, CIK 0002058533
- Public recordNIH RePORTER and NSF award searches
- Public record510(k) clearances, Pharos Life Corporation
- IndependentYC startup Pharos lands a $5M seed led by Felicis
- IndependentPharos raises $5M Seed, deal analysis
- IndependentPharos raises $44 million in Series A, a different company
- CompanyPharos Announces $5M Seed Round
- CompanyPharos company page, batch and team size
- CompanyWebsite copy and security page
- CompanyOpen roles and company overview text
Compiled from SEC, NIH, NSF and FDA public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; an offering under another exemption produces no Form D, so the absence of a filing is not evidence that no financing occurred. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Pharos. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
