Funding profile · Digital health
Sepsis Scout
Seven years of accelerator cheques, a small federal grant and an undisclosed acquisition, with not one Form D on file at the SEC. The public totals for this company disagree by an order of magnitude.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| By 2017 | muru-D accelerator, Sydney | $40,000 | muru-D (Telstra) | Founder interview |
| Dec 1, 2017 | Accelerator | $75K | Not named | PitchBook |
| Mar 20, 2018 | Accelerator, Y Combinator W18 | $120K · $195K to date | Y Combinator | PitchBook, YC |
| Aug 7, 2018 | Seed | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| 2019 to 2022 | Four further accelerator rounds, one undated | Not disclosed | Quinn names TMCx; MedTech Innovator appears in company materials | PitchBook, interview |
| Sep 1, 2021 | Early stage VC | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| Aug 2022 to Jul 2024 | NIH SBIR Phase I | $254,320 | NIGMS | NIH |
| Oct 20, 2023 | Later stage VC, the final financing | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| Oct 23, 2024 | Acquisition by Cytovale | Terms not disclosed | Cytovale | Disclosure, PitchBook |
| Named investors | Across all rounds | Holdings not disclosed | Y Combinator, muru-D, Kapor Capital, Gaingels, Allectus Capital, Colorful Capital, Constellar Ventures | PitchBook, Tracxn |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · no Form D on file · searched Sep 23, 2026
- Registrant search
- No EDGAR registrant named Patchd, Patchd Medical or Sepsis Scout
- Full text search
- Zero documents of any form type mentioning either name
- Form D count
- 0, so no offering amount, investor count or related-person list exists
- Related persons
- Unknown from filings. Public records name only Robert Quinn (CEO, co-founder) and Wei-Jien Tan (CTO, co-founder and SBIR principal investigator)
- Registered address
- 548 Market Street, Number 88172, San Francisco, CA 94104, per PitchBook
Reading the filings
- Silence at the SEC is not evidence of no money.An EDGAR registrant search and a full text search for both company names return nothing. Accelerator notes and SAFEs sold under Section 4(a)(2) require no Form D, which is the likely explanation for a company whose largest disclosed cheque was $120,000.
- The public totals are irreconcilable.PitchBook puts lifetime funding at $2.88M. Tracxn puts it at $210K across four rounds. Quinn said in a 2020 interview that the company had raised a couple of million. PitchBook shows amounts on only two of its nine financing rows, $75K and $120K, so about $2.68M of its own total is unattributed in the rows it displays.
- Non-dilutive money was a meaningful slice.The NIH SBIR Phase I of $254,320 is roughly 9 percent of PitchBook’s $2.88M total, and Quinn has also disclosed BARDA grant funding whose amount is not in the public award record. For a company of three to five people, that is a large share of the payroll.
- The exit landed thirteen days after the buyer got funded.Cytovale announced a $100 million Series D on Oct 10, 2024. PitchBook dates the Sepsis Scout acquisition Oct 23, 2024. The buyer had just closed the largest round in its history; the seller’s last financing was a year old.
- Only one equity holding in this company is documented in a primary source.It is not an investor’s. Professor Simon Finfer disclosed stock options in Sepsis Scout in JAMA, Lancet Respiratory Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine between 2024 and 2025. The company website quoted him endorsing the product without mentioning it.
- The company is gone as an independent entity.PitchBook marks the M&A row out of business, Quinn’s own 2025 journal disclosure says he is now employed by Cytovale, and the sepsisscout.com domain resolved in September 2026 to unrelated video content, not a company site.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA clearance, approval or device listing under either name as of Sep 23, 2026. | Not found |
| Clinical evidence | No registered trial, no peer-reviewed validation of the algorithm. The 39 hour lead time claim is unpublished. | Company-stated |
| Customers | None named. A participant information site for a company study was live in April 2024. | Company-stated |
| Intellectual property | One US publication and one WO publication, both listed inactive by PitchBook. No granted US patent found. | Public record |
| Acquirer | Cytovale sells IntelliSep, an FDA cleared emergency department sepsis test (K220991, Dec 2022), and raised $100M in October 2024. | Public record |
What to watch
- Any Cytovale disclosure that assigns value to the acquired wearable assets.
- Assignment records on the patent family, which would show where the method ended up.
- Publication of the NIH funded explainability work, which would be the first outside look at the algorithm.
- Whether the named accelerator and venture backers ever mark a return on this position.
The Sepsis Scout story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR registrant and full text searches for Patchd and Sepsis Scout, no results
- Public recordNIH RePORTER 1R43GM148091-01
- Public recordPreventing, identifying, and managing sepsis in the community, author disclosures
- Public recordAuthor disclosures citing stock options in Sepsis Scout
- Public recordopenFDA 510(k) records: no match for Sepsis Scout or Patchd; Cytovale K220991
- AggregatorSepsis Scout profile: deal history, investors, patents, acquisition date
- AggregatorSepsis Scout profile: founders and investors
- InterviewFrom UQ to Silicon Valley with Robert Quinn
- CompanyCytovale Completes $100 Million Series D Funding
- CompanySepsis Scout website and study participant site
Compiled from SEC, NIH, FDA and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. No Form D notice exists for this company; amounts shown from commercial databases are third-party estimates and are labeled as such. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Sepsis Scout or Cytovale. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
