Funding profile · Molecular diagnostics
VedaBio
More than $65 million reported raised since 2021, one lead investor across both rounds, a strategic corporate investor added in 2025, and not one Form D on file with the SEC.
$40M+Announced at launch, October 2023, company-reported
$25MCeiling on the Series A extension plus the Siemens Healthineers agreement, September 2025
$65M+Total capital reported by the company, September 2026
0Form D notices filed with the SEC, checked September 23, 2026
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 to 2023 | Founding and stealth, as LabSimply | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Independent |
| Oct 17, 2023 | Series A, announced at launch | Over $40M | OMX Ventures, lead; family offices including Kleinmuntz Associates | Company release |
| Sep 23, 2025 | Series A extension plus strategic agreement | Up to $25M combined | OMX Ventures, lead; Siemens Healthineers | Company release |
| Announced Sep 2026 | Series B, planned | Not disclosed | None named | Independent |
| 2021 to 2026 | Federal grants | None found | No NIH RePORTER or NSF award under VedaBio or LabSimply | Public record |
What the filings show
VedaBio, Inc. · no Regulation D filing on record
- Company search
- EDGAR company search for VedaBio returns no matching companies
- Full text search
- EDGAR full text search for VedaBio returns 0 documents, so no third party filing names the company either
- Prior name
- No EDGAR entity for LabSimply
- Related vehicles
- No single company SPV or fund filing referencing VedaBio
- Checked
- September 23, 2026
- Other federal records
- No FDA 510(k), PMA, emergency use authorization, registration or listing; no ClinicalTrials.gov study; no NIH or NSF award
- What is on record
- 20 granted US patents assigned to VedaBio, Inc., November 21, 2023 through February 17, 2026, two of them co-assigned with The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois
Reading the filings
- More than $65 million raised, and no Form D.Regulation D offerings require a Form D notice within 15 days of the first sale. There is none here, under either name, and no filing anywhere in EDGAR mentions the company. Issuers that raise under Section 4(a)(2) instead of Regulation D file nothing, so the absence is lawful and not unusual for a tightly held round with a single institutional lead. It does mean every capital figure on this page is company-reported and cannot be checked against a filing.
- The totals reconcile exactly.Over $40 million announced in October 2023, plus up to $25 million announced in September 2025, is the $65 million the San Diego Business Journal reported in September 2026. There is no sign of an unannounced round in between, and none of a bridge.
- The $25 million is a ceiling, and it is not all equity.The September 2025 release describes a Series A extension alongside a strategic agreement with Siemens Healthineers, with the two together totaling up to $25 million. The equity share is not disclosed, and neither is the schedule for whatever is not yet committed. Treat $65 million as an upper bound on cash received, not a confirmed balance.
- One lead, twice, and the lead supplied the CEO.OMX Ventures led the 2023 round and, per European Biotechnology, the 2025 extension. Frederic Sweeney was an OMX venture partner sent to diligence the company; he joined as president and chief operating officer, and became chief executive in March 2024. OMX managing director Craig Asher is named as lead director. Concentration on one fund raises the stakes on the Series B.
- No non dilutive capital at all.Searches of NIH RePORTER and the NSF award database return nothing under either company name. That is unusual for a university spin out in infectious disease diagnostics, where SBIR and RADx money is common, and it means the burn has been funded entirely by equity.
- One figure was published under the wrong heading.The San Diego Business Journal fact box in October 2025 listed “Over $65 million” as revenue. The same paper in September 2026 lists the identical figure as funding. The company has no cleared product and nothing for sale, so the 2026 label is the one that fits the record.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | Nothing on file with the FDA. The platform is described by the company as investigational, not cleared, authorized or approved, and not available for sale. | Public record |
| Revenue | None reported. No product is on sale. | Not found |
| Intellectual property | 20 granted US patents, plus a non exclusive license to the Mammoth Biosciences diagnostic CRISPR portfolio signed September 9, 2025. | Public record |
| Corporate partner | Siemens Healthineers, strategic agreement and participation in the Series A extension, September 2025. Terms beyond the combined $25 million ceiling are not disclosed. | Company-stated |
| Channel | UCP Merchant Medicine, multi year pre launch engagement announced September 1, 2026, covering 78 health system clients and more than 300 urgent care centers. Pre launch only, and contingent on FDA clearance. | Partner-stated |
| Comparables | Sherlock Biosciences was acquired by OraSure in December 2024, reported by 360Dx at $25 million. Mammoth Biosciences holds a January 2022 emergency use authorization limited to high complexity labs, and is now VedaBio’s licensor. | Independent |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would be the first filing level confirmation of any round. A Series B priced with new institutional investors is the most likely occasion for one.
- The size and lead of that Series B. Sweeney said in October 2025 it could come as soon as the second half of 2026, and that strategic partnerships might remove the need for equity at all. In September 2026 he said the company plans to launch it in the immediate future.
- An FDA submission date. Commercial preparation is tentatively planned for the second half of 2027, which sets the earliest plausible revenue.
The VedaBio story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company search and full text search for VedaBio and LabSimply, no results
- Public recordPatents assigned to VedaBio, Inc., 20 grants listed
- Public recordopenFDA, ClinicalTrials.gov, NIH RePORTER and NSF award searches, no results
- CompanyVedaBio Launches with Over $40 Million to Revolutionize Molecular Detection
- CompanyVedaBio Announces Strategic Agreement with Siemens Healthineers and Series A Extension, Totaling Up to $25 Million
- CompanyVedaBio Strengthens Management Team
- CompanyVedaBio Selects UCP Merchant Medicine to Position Its Target Amplification-Free CRISPR Molecular Diagnostics for Urgent Care
- IndependentVedaBio Focused on Product Development with New Strategic Partnerships
- IndependentVedaBio Bringing Molecular Diagnostics Platform to Urgent Care
- IndependentSiemens Healthineers enters CRISPR diagnostics space
- IndependentVedaBio Accelerating Amplification-Free Syndromic POC MDx With Additional CRISPR IP
- IndependentOraSure Technologies Acquires Sherlock Biosciences
Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH, NSF, USPTO and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. VedaBio has no Form D on file; every capital figure here is company-reported. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in VedaBio. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
