Funding profile · Dental practice operations software
Avora
A $2.3 million seed round reported in June 2026, no matching SEC Form D found, and a founding entity that has not surfaced in EDGAR at all. Here is what the public capital record actually shows for this company.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2024 | Y Combinator batch, as ShowAndTell | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, group partner Pete Koomen | Accelerator record |
| Aug 5, 2025 | Company launch, described as already backed | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, CRV | Company release |
| Jun 15, 2026 | Seed round | $2.3 million announced | Led by CRV; participation from Y Combinator and scouts from Sequoia and Thrive | Company release |
What the filings show
No Form D notice has been located under the names Avora or ShowAndTell in SEC EDGAR’s company search as of September 25, 2026. A company search for “Avora” returns exactly one filer: Avora Holdings, Ltd., CIK 0001883440, which filed a Form D on September 22, 2021 from an address in Woodinville, Washington. That filing predates this company’s 2024 founding by three years and its industry classification has no connection to dentistry. It is treated here as an unrelated entity that happens to share a name.
Avora Holdings, Ltd. · Form D · filed Sep 22, 2021 (unrelated entity)
- Filer
- Avora Holdings, Ltd., CIK 0001883440
- Address on filing
- Woodinville, Washington
- Relevance
- Filed three years before this company’s 2024 founding and carries no dental industry classification. Included here only to document why it was ruled out.
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, accession 0001883440-21-000001
Reading the filings
- There is no Form D to read.The company that operates getavora.ai has not filed, under either of its known names, a Regulation D notice with the SEC. Companies that raise under other exemptions, or that have not yet crossed a reporting threshold, can lawfully have no Form D on file, so the absence does not by itself mean no money changed hands.
- The dollar figure comes from one release, repeated.The $2.3 million seed figure traces to a single Group Dentistry Now piece, explicitly labeled a sponsored press release, published June 15, 2026. Dealroom’s coverage the same day cites Group Dentistry Now as its source rather than an independent check of the raise.
- The August 2025 announcement already claimed CRV backing.Ten months before the seed figure was announced, Avora described itself in its launch release as already backed by Y Combinator and CRV, without a dollar amount. Whether that reflects the same $2.3 million later disclosed, an earlier tranche, or simply looser language about investor relationships is not resolved by the public record.
- The investor list mixes a lead and scouts.CRV is named as lead, with Y Combinator and unnamed scouts from Sequoia and Thrive also participating. Scout money is typically a small check written by an individual on behalf of a larger fund, and none of the three funds involved have issued their own statement on the round as of this writing.
- Headcount is small relative to the customer claims.Y Combinator’s company page lists a team of 4 as of its last update, against company claims of hundreds of practices using the product and nearly 100 in its implementation pipeline as of August 2025.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Accelerator | Y Combinator, Fall 2024 batch, as ShowAndTell. | Accelerator record |
| Named customers | Keystone Dental Partners, Shared Practices Group, and Airway Dentists quoted by title in company materials. No independent confirmation found. | Company-stated |
| Usage claims | Hundreds of practices adopted since a 2026 launch; revenue said to have grown 10x over the prior year. | Company-stated |
| PMS integrations | Company says it connects to OpenDental, Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Denticon, and Dentrix Ascend. | Company-stated |
| SEC record | No Form D found for Avora or ShowAndTell as of Sep 25, 2026. | Not found |
What to watch
- A Form D filing under Avora’s name, which would be the first SEC-level confirmation of any round size.
- Whether the $2.3 million figure is corrected, amended, or contradicted by a later company statement.
- Reporting on the round from an outlet that did not source its figures from Group Dentistry Now’s sponsored release.
- Team size and named-customer growth relative to the claimed practice counts.
The Avora story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company search, Avora, Form D filings
- Public recordForm D, Avora Holdings, Ltd., CIK 0001883440
- CompanyAvora Raises $2.3M as Hundreds Adopt AI-Powered Documentation and Case Acceptance Platform
- IndependentAvora raises $2.3M for AI platform saving dental providers 1.5 hours daily
- IndependentAvora raises $2.3M seed to bring AI documentation to dental practices
- CompanyAI Leaders from Ramp and Infinitus launch Avora to tackle Dentistry’s biggest operational challenge
- Accelerator recordAvora: Agents for dental operations, Y Combinator company page
- Public recordShowAndTell company profile
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Avora. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
