Funding profile · Medical data annotation

Centaur Labs

One SEC filing on the books, a second priced round the SEC has not yet seen, and a small but growing federal research grant. Here is what the paper trail actually shows for Centaur Diagnostics, Inc.

$32M+Total disclosed to date, company and filing figures combined
$15.89MSold of $15.89M offered, only Form D on file (Aug 2021)
$16M+Series B announced Oct 2024, no matching Form D found
$312.5KNIH grant awarded for FY2026

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2017 MIT Sandbox Innovation Fund grant Not disclosed MIT Sandbox Innovation Fund Independent
Winter 2019 Y Combinator batch (W19) Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Aug to Sep 2021 Series A $15,885,849 sold, fully placed Matrix Partners (lead), Accel, Global Founders Capital, Susa Ventures, Y Combinator; angels John Capodilupo, Tom Lee, Elliot Cohen Form D + release
Oct 2024 Series B $16M+ announced, oversubscribed SignalFire (lead), Samsung Next, Alumni Ventures; existing investors Matrix, Accel, Susa, Omega, Y Combinator Company release
FY2026 NIH R41 grant, 1R41LM015320-01 $312,528 NIH National Library of Medicine NIH RePORTER

What the filings show

Centaur Diagnostics, Inc. · Form D · filed Aug 17, 2021

First sale
Jul 30, 2021
Offered
$15,885,849 equity
Sold
$15,885,849 · $0 remaining
Investors
38 · average about $418,049
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Erik Duhaime (executive officer, director)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001878760

Reading the filings

  1. The one filing on record is the 2021 Series A, and it is fully sold.Thirty eight investors put in $15,885,849, about $418,049 each on average, a size consistent with an institutional lead like Matrix Partners plus a handful of named angel investors rather than a broad crowd of small checks.
  2. The filed total is slightly above the headline figure.Press coverage and the company’s own announcement both called the round “$15 million.” The Form D puts the fully sold amount at $15,885,849, about 6% higher than the rounded public figure. That is a rounding gap, not a real discrepancy.
  3. The October 2024 Series B has no Form D that we could find.A Form D is normally due within 15 days of a round’s first sale. Centaur announced an oversubscribed Series B of “$16M+” led by SignalFire in October 2024, and SignalFire’s own blog confirms leading it, but an EDGAR company search for Centaur Diagnostics, Inc. (CIK 0001878760) turns up only the single 2021 filing as of September 2026, nearly two years later. Companies can raise under other exemptions that do not require a Form D, so the absence does not prove nothing was filed correctly, but no amendment or new notice appears under this issuer’s name.
  4. Only one related person is listed.The 2021 Form D names just CEO Erik Duhaime as an executive officer and director. Co-founders Zach Rausnitz and Tom Gellatly, and any board seats that came with the Series A or Series B leads, are not reflected in this filing, which has not been amended since it was filed.
  5. A federal grant sits alongside the venture money.The NIH’s National Library of Medicine awarded $312,528 to “Centaur Diagnostics, Inc.” for the year starting September 2026, tied to a specific research project with Vanderbilt University rather than general operating funds. It is a small fraction of the company’s disclosed venture capital but is a first appearance in NIH’s own award database for this company.
  6. The legal name and the public brand have diverged.SEC and NIH records both use “Centaur Diagnostics, Inc.” The company markets itself as “Centaur Labs” in most press coverage through 2024 and increasingly as “Centaur.AI” in its own materials and in a 2026 academic paper co-authored by its CEO.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Research partners Peer reviewed papers co-authored with researchers at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital and other academic medical centers, using DiagnosUs data. Peer reviewed
Federal funding NIH R41 grant of $312,528, FY2026, for free text annotation research with Vanderbilt University. Public record
Named enterprise customers Massachusetts General Hospital, Memorial Sloan Kettering, Eight Sleep, Elsevier’s Scibite, Activ Surgical and Medtronic, named in the Series B release. No customer-published case study found for most of these. Company-stated
Customer quotes, independently sourced Zeta Surgical’s CTO and a Paige senior AI scientist are quoted by name in a post published by investor SignalFire, confirming use of Centaur’s platform on named projects. Independent
Product expansion An on demand labeling product launched alongside the Series B, and 2025 blog posts pitch the same crowd labeling approach for content moderation, climate data, supply chain documents and robotics, beyond the original healthcare focus. Company-stated

What to watch

  • A Form D or amendment covering the October 2024 Series B, which is not yet on file under this issuer’s CIK.
  • Whether the NIH grant, the company’s first appearance in that database, leads to further federal funding.
  • Board and officer changes reflected in a future SEC filing, since the only one on record predates both the Series A close and the entire Series B.
  • Revenue or customer count disclosures beyond the named-logo list in press releases.

The Centaur Labs story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Centaur Diagnostics, Inc.SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001878760 · filed Aug 17, 2021
  2. Public recordEDGAR company filing history for Centaur Diagnostics, Inc.SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001878760 · checked Sep 25, 2026
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER award 1R41LM015320-01NIH, National Library of Medicine · FY2026
  4. IndependentCentaur Labs Gets $15 Million To Improve Data For Healthcare AIForbes, Gil Press · Sep 3, 2021
  5. IndependentCentaur Labs raises $15 million, led by Matrix PartnersDOTmed News, via Business Wire · Sep 7, 2021
  6. Investor, independentCentaur Labs: Transforming medical data annotationSignalFire blog · Oct 8, 2024
  7. IndependentGamifying medical data labeling to advance AIMIT News, Zach Winn · Jun 28, 2023
  8. IndependentCentaur Labs company page, batch W19Y Combinator Database (ycdb.co) · archived May 21, 2019
  9. CompanyCentaur AI Series A funding announcementCentaur.ai blog · Sep 3, 2021
  10. CompanyCentaur AI raises $16M Series B to accelerate AI for health and scienceCentaur.ai blog · Oct 8, 2024

Compiled from SEC, NIH and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Centaur Labs. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.