Funding profile · Medical devices and diagnostics
Tambua Health
No Form D has been filed under Tambua Health’s name. What exists instead is a trail of press-reported seed checks from 2019 to 2020, an aggregator total that does not add up to the sum of those checks, and a 2026 company listing describing a product that has nothing to do with the one investors originally backed.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 2019 | Seed | $100,000 | Backstage Accelerator | Aggregator |
| Mar 2020 | Y Combinator Winter 2020 | $150,000 for 7% equity, YC’s standard terms that batch | Y Combinator | Aggregator, press |
| May 14, 2020 | Seed | Not disclosed | Ventures Platform Fund | Press, aggregator |
| Aug 15, 2020 | Seed | Not disclosed | Future Africa | Aggregator |
What the filings show
Nothing. A search of the SEC’s Form D notices, and of EDGAR full text for mentions of Tambua Health or Yoneda Health, returns no results. That is consistent with a company whose disclosed checks came from an accelerator, from Y Combinator’s own standard deal, and from African seed funds investing outside the US federal registration system, none of which necessarily generates a Form D. It does not by itself mean no money changed hands beyond what is listed above; it means there is no federal filing to check the press figures against.
Reading the record
- Two of the four rounds have amounts, two do not.Digest Africa’s funding log puts a number on the Backstage Accelerator seed ($100,000, Mar 2019) and the Y Combinator seed ($150,000, Mar 2020). The Ventures Platform Fund and Future Africa checks from May and August 2020 are recorded only as undisclosed amounts.
- The YC figure lines up with press coverage.Both Techpoint Africa and Ventureburn describe Y Combinator’s Winter 2020 batch as a $150,000 investment for 7% equity, the standard terms YC used for that cohort. Digest Africa’s $150,000 line for the same round is consistent with that.
- The aggregator total does not match the disclosed rounds.Tracxn puts Tambua Health’s total funding at $125,000 across two rounds. That is less than the $250,000 in disclosed amounts alone (Backstage plus YC), before adding whatever Ventures Platform and Future Africa put in. Tracxn’s own funding round table for the company, when checked line by line, also lists implausible multi-million dollar figures in fields marked as amount and valuation, which do not resemble a seed-stage African healthtech company’s numbers and look like a data error rather than real figures. None of Tracxn’s dollar figures beyond the $125,000 headline total should be relied on.
- No SEC paper trail exists to settle the discrepancy.A US incorporated company that later listed a Fremont, California headquarters would typically be expected to leave some federal financing record if it raised institutional equity domestically. None has been found here, which leaves the press and aggregator numbers as the only record available.
- The company’s federal grant claim has no matching record.A 2020 investor profile said Tambua Health received a grant from MIT and Harvard University. No NIH or NSF award under the company’s name appears in the federal grant databases checked for this profile.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k) or PMA record found for an applicant named Tambua or Yoneda. | Public record |
| Clinics and revenue | A 2020 investor profile said the device was “being piloted as a diagnostics tool in 267 clinics and has generated tens of thousands of dollars in monthly recurring revenue,” with Stanford and MIT named as COVID-research customers. Not independently confirmed. | Company-stated |
| Team size | Reported team size ranges from 6 employees (Tracxn, May 2026) to 11 to 50 (LinkedIn and Digest Africa) to a YC-listed team size of 13. | Aggregator, varies |
| Headquarters | Listed as San Francisco on the company’s 2020 site, and as Fremont, California on its current LinkedIn page, alongside offices in Nairobi and London. | Company-stated |
| Product, 2026 | Y Combinator’s live listing for the tambua.health URL now shows the company as “Yoneda Health,” selling “NoDraw,” a bloodless blood-panel app, rather than the acoustic lung device the checks above were made against. | Differs from funded product |
What to watch
- Any Form D or other federal filing that would independently confirm a round size.
- Whether the capital raised for the acoustic lung device carried over to the NoDraw blood diagnostic product, or whether that is a separate entity operating under the same domain and YC listing.
- Confirmation, one way or the other, of the 267-clinic and monthly-recurring-revenue figures.
- A current, named investor list, none of which has been published since the 2020 rounds.
The Tambua Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR full text and Form D search for Tambua Health and Yoneda Health
- Public recordopenFDA device 510(k) and PMA search, applicant Tambua and Yoneda
- AggregatorTambua Health Inc., company and funding record
- AggregatorTambua Health, company profile
- IndependentHere are the African startups that pitched at Y Combinator’s Winter 2020 Demo Day
- IndependentHere are the African startups and Africa-focused firms from Y Combinator’s W20 Demo Day
- IndependentVentures Platform Fund invests in three African startups as portfolio passes 30
- CompanyInvesting in Tambua Health, Brass and FunnelJoy
- CompanyTambua Health helps doctors diagnose respiratory diseases
- CompanyTambua Health, LinkedIn company page
- CompanyTambua Health / Yoneda Health, company page
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice was found for this company. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Tambua Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
