Funding profile · Neurotechnology

Zeit Medical

One disclosed round, $2 million, closed in October 2021 and never followed. No Form D has ever been filed. The only SEC document that names the company belongs to somebody else.

$2.0MSeed round announced October 2021, the only disclosed financing
0Form D notices filed with the SEC, as of September 2026
10Investors named in contemporaneous reporting of that round
$0NIH and NSF award dollars found on the federal record

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2021 Y Combinator, Summer 2021 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC directory
Oct 2021 Seed, described as oversubscribed $2,000,000 Co-led by SeedtoB Capital and Digilife; Y Combinator, Gaingels, Northsouth Ventures, Tamar Capital, Axial, Citta Capital; angels Greg Badros and Theodore Rekatsinas Reporting + release
2022 to 2026 None disclosed Not disclosed None announced Nothing found
2017 to 2026 Federal grants $0 found No NIH RePORTER award, no matching NSF award NIH, NSF

What the filings show

Zeit Medical, Inc. · Form D · none on file

Filer
No SEC filer named Zeit Medical exists in EDGAR company search
Form D
None, in any year
Full text search
32 documents contain the phrase Zeit Medical; none is a Form D
Implication
The October 2021 round was either exempt under Section 4(a)(2), or filed under a name that does not read as Zeit Medical
Checked
SEC EDGAR, Sep 23, 2026

Denali Capital Acquisition Corp. · DEF 14A · filed Jun 28, 2024

Relevance
Director biography of Jim Mao, founding and managing partner of Citta Capital, a seed investor in Zeit Medical
As of date
Portfolio described as of December 31, 2023
Description given
“early heart stroke detection with FDA breakthrough destination”
Co-listed holdings
Kintsugi, Openprise, Sequoia Games, SetPoint, Ryu Games
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001913577

Reading the filings

  1. A $2 million round with no Form D is normal, and still worth noting.Companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D file no Form D at all, so the absence is not evidence that the money did not move: the company and two lead funds described the round in late 2021. What it does mean is that no filed document states an amount offered, an amount sold, an investor count or a board roster. Every capital figure here comes from a press release or a reporter, not a filing.
  2. The checks were small.Ten investors are named in the TechCrunch account, plus unnamed others. Two million split ten ways averages about $200,000 each, and the co-leads almost certainly took more than an even share, putting most of the rest in angel and micro-fund territory. That is a seed sized for a feasibility study, not a pivotal trial.
  3. The only SEC record naming the company gets it wrong twice.A 2024 proxy statement describes the holding as “early heart stroke detection with FDA breakthrough destination”. Stroke is a brain event, and the word is designation. The errors belong to the filer, not the company. It is still the closest thing to investor-side confirmation that the designation exists, since the FDA does not publish designations before a device is authorized.
  4. Directory figures disagree, and none of them is a filing.One aggregator reports $2.0M and names investors the 2021 reporting does not, including Acequia Capital, Broadway Angels, Kearny Jackson, SignalFire and PSG. Another reports $2.1M. A European outlet headlined the same raise as €1.8M. Where an aggregator and a 2021 news report disagree, this page follows the report.
  5. Five years without a disclosed round is the loudest number here.The seed closed in October 2021 to fund clinical studies and an FDA submission. Since then: a trial registered in December 2022 and never updated, two hospital sites announced in September 2023, a last blog post in April 2024, two patent applications published in May 2025, a site still live in January 2026, two to ten employees on LinkedIn. No Series A, no bridge, no grant, no Form D. Either the company is running quietly on what is left, or the capital story stopped in 2021.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No 510(k), PMA, De Novo or registration listing in openFDA as of Sep 2026. The Halo Alert System is investigational. Public record
Designation Reported in 2021 and stated on the company site. Not verifiable in any FDA database, by policy. It confers prioritized review, not permission to sell. Independent
Clinical NCT05669456, 300 planned, feasibility endpoint, status unknown since Dec 2022. Two Advocate Health hospitals announced as sites in Sep 2023. No results posted. Public record
Product and pricing A 2023 launch on prescription at about $35 a month was described in 2021 reporting. No evidence of a product on sale, a customer or revenue. Plan not met
Intellectual property Two US applications published May 2025, naming Vardoulis, Naber and Kyriacou. Applications, not grants. Public record
Team Two to ten employees on LinkedIn; a portfolio page lists six. Founders remain listed as CEO and CMO. Company-stated
Competition Forest Devices cleared its SignalNED EEG system through 510(k) in Sep 2024 and Sep 2025, reaching market in the clinical setting first. Public record

What to watch

  • A first Form D. It would be due within 15 days of a first sale in a Regulation D offering.
  • Any disclosed round after October 2021, at any size, including a bridge.
  • An update or results posting on NCT05669456, which has sat at unknown since December 2022.
  • A marketing submission appearing in openFDA, which is the point at which a breakthrough designation starts to pay.

The Zeit Medical story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company search and full text search for Zeit Medical, no Form DSEC · Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordDenali Capital Acquisition Corp. DEF 14A, director biographiesSEC EDGAR · Jun 28, 2024
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER organization and text searches, no awardsNIH · Sep 23, 2026
  4. Public recordopenFDA 510(k), PMA and registration queries for Zeit Medical, no matchesFDA · Sep 23, 2026
  5. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT05669456, ZASH ProtocolFirst posted Dec 30, 2022
  6. Public recordUS patent applications 2025/0169768 A1 and 2025/0160715 A1USPTO · published May 2025
  7. Public recordFDA 510(k) K242306 and K251726, Forest Devices SignalNED SystemFDA · 2024 and 2025
  8. IndependentZeit secures $2M in seed funding for its stroke-detecting wearableTechCrunch, Devin Coldewey · Oct 29, 2021
  9. IndependentStroke detection wearable secures $2m seed fundingNeuro Rehab Times · Nov 1, 2021
  10. IndependentStudy investigates whether headband device can detect strokesAdvocate Health · Sep 26, 2023
  11. CompanyZeit Medical Announces $2m Seed RoundZeit Medical · Nov 2021
  12. CompanyZeit Medical home and team pagesAccessed via the Internet Archive · Jan 2026

Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH, USPTO and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; a company that raises under Section 4(a)(2) files none, so the absence of a Form D is not evidence that no capital was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Zeit Medical. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.